2018 AFL: Round 18 St Kilda vs Richmond Preview & Betting Tips

July 17th 2018, 12:02pm, By: PuntingInDanger

PuntingInDanger and fans hit on four of eight bets in the AFL last weekend to bounce back from a few tough rounds in a row. Round 18 gets underway Friday night with a big clash between the Saints and Tigers from Etihad Stadium which will serve as the annual ‘Maddie’s Match’ for charity. We take a look at the Round 18 opener and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 18 St Kilda vs Richmond Betting Tips

Richmond will be looking to bounce back from a disappointing away loss to the Giants last weekend. The Tigers travelled to Sydney with the hopes of maintaining their four-point advantage on the top of the ladder, however, the Giants were too good on the night, winning by 2 points. GWS had the top four disposal getters on the ground with Lachie Whitefield, Callan Ward, Heath Shaw and Stephen Coniglio all racked up 30 disposals.

The Tigers now have a 2-4 record away from the MCG this year and will be desperate to improve that record on Friday night as they square off at Etihad. They struggled to find an avenue to goal against the Giants on the weekend, scoring just 77 points which was their lowest score since losing to the Power in Adelaide in Round 12.

The Saints were dominant over the Blues on the weekend, recording a 64-point win on Friday night as the midfield of the Saints took over the game. Jack Steele continued his good run of form, racking up 33 touches and kicking a goal while Jack Steven also had 33 disposals and two goals. It was good to see Jack Billings back to his best after a disappointing year so far as the exciting youngster had 30 touches and two goals.

After winning just one of their first 12 games, the Saints have now won three of their last four.  Although two of those wins have come against the bottom ranked teams in the league in the Suns and Blues, they did record a great win against the Demons a few weeks ago and are looking like a much-improved side.

The Saints have a few injury concerns to worry about as star defender Jimmy Webster went down with a groin injury in the win over the Blues and is unlikely to play on Friday night. They could, however, get Logan Austin and Josh Battle back from injury,  bolstering either end of the ground. One positive sign against the Blues was the form of youngster Rowan Marshall, who kicked two goals, racked up eight marks and also chipped in for 23 hitouts in his best game of AFL.

The Tigers will be without a few key players as well as Reece Conca, Jack Graham, Dan Butler and Nathan Broad all remain on the sidelines. However, Bachar Houli looks set to return from injury this weekend while Nick Vlaustin will be available after suspension.

History

2018 Round 10 – Richmond (15.15.105) dft. St Kilda (12.5.77)
2017 Round 23 – Richmond (19.8.122) dft. St Kilda (12.9.81)
2017 Round 16 – St Kilda (21.12.138) dft. Richmond (10.11.71)
2016 Round 22 – Richmond (6.10.46) lt. St Kilda (7.13.55)
2015 Round 16 – St Kilda (10.13.73) lt. Richmond (13.11.89)
2014 Round 22 – Richmond (15.8.98) dft. St Kilda (10.12.72)
2014 Round 15 – St Kilda (11.7.73) lt. Richmond (18.9.117)
2013 Round 14 – Richmond (17.17.119) dft. St Kilda (8.7.55)

Played: 184
St Kilda: 71
Richmond: 110

The Saints were fantastic against the Tigers at Etihad Stadium last year, smashing them by 67 points after kicking 14 goals to 1 in the first half. That was arguably the turning point of the season for the Tigers, and obviously they are a much different side this time around.

Richmond start as 39-point favourites here, which seems just a touch high considering the Saints were gallant in defeat in their Round 10 loss to the Tigers at the MCG. Jade Gresham snagged six goals in that game and the Saints lost by just 28 points. They’ll feel more comfortable on the weekend and they have covered in their last three games in a row.

TIP:

St Kilda Handicap (+39.5)
$1.92

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Back the Saints with a big head start

 

TIPS

NFL 2018-19: Week 16 Preview & Betting Tips

The penultimate round of the 2018-19 NFL season gets underway Sunday! Catch our preview and tips for the key games of the weekend here.. read more

Caulfield Racing Tips for Wednesday, December 19th

Racing returns to Caulfield for Wednesday's midweek meeting and we've picked out four races on the card to bet into. Check out our selections here! read more

2018-19 NBA Betting Tips: Tuesday 18th December

The NBA on Tuesday is always busy and this week is no different with a heap of games set to play out. We give previews and betting tips for the value games here read more

2018-19 Big Bash League (BBL08): Round 1 Preview & Betting Tips

The 2018-19 Big Bash League gets underway this Wednesday, the 19th of December! We take a look at the Round 1 action and give our betting tips here! read more

ARTICLES

Streaming Live Sports on Australian Betting Sites

Here's a run down of which Australian sports betting sites offer live streaming action of your favourite sports! read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


BLOGS

BBL08 Team Preview: Perth Scorchers

Can the Perth Scorchers win a record 4th Big Bash League title in 2018-19? See our full team preview for the Scorchers in BBL08 here read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers will be aiming for a successful title defence in BBL08. Can they complete the back to back or will Travis Head's international duty be a hinderance? read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Melbourne Renegades

Our 2018-19 Big Bash League team previews continue today as we take a look at last season's semi finalists the Melbourne Renegades. Can the Renegades make the finals for just the third time in BBL08? read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Hobart Hurricanes

The Hobart Hurricanes surprised many last season as they reached the final, and they'll be looking to go one better in BBL08. They have a dynamic squad of talented players but they'll need to keep them on the park to contend. Here's our Hurricanes team preview for BBL08. read more