Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup is the pinnacle of horse racing in Australia, with the race often referred to as “the race that stops a nation.” A two-mile handicap (3200m) that is held at Flemington Racecourse on the first Tuesday in November, the Melbourne Cup attracts the best local stayers from Australia and New Zealand, along with classy international stayers. 

First held in 1861, the Melbourne Cup was won by the Etienne de Mestre-trained Archer who was a five-year-old entire. He would return the following year to win the race once again. John Cutts was the jockey for both victories. One year later, in 1863, the smallest Melbourne Cup field of all time would line up with just seven runners competing in the race won by Banker. The next smallest field size has been 14 which occurred in 1929 and 1931. Carbine won the 1890 edition of the great race in a field of 39 runners which is the race record. The race now holds a capacity of 24 runners. 

Prize money continues to increase with the Melbourne Cup currently worth $7.3 million; this includes trophies worth $250,000, with the winner receiving $4 million and runner up $1 million in prize money. 

The following races are ballot-exempt which means they grant the winner automatic entry into the Melbourne Cup – The Bart Cummings, Hotham Handicap, Cox Plate and Caulfield Cup. 

Horses gain entry into the race first by nominating for the race and being allocated a weight by the handicappers. The better the form of the horse, the higher the weight that will be allocated to the horse; this does give them a greater success of successfully making the final field. A ballot order is created, and it is based upon whether a horse has passed a ballot clause, and the weight that has been allocated in relation to what weight would be given if it were a weight-for-age (WFA) race. There is a long list of conditions that allow a horse to pass the ballot clause, so we won’t cover that here. 

melbourne cup

The Melbourne Cup is the centrepiece of the Melbourne Cup Carnival which is held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Melbourne Cup Carnival is a four-day carnival that consists of the following race days:

* Derby Day – held on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup

* Melbourne Cup Day – held on the first Tuesday in November

* Oaks Day – held on the Thursday, two days after the Melbourne Cup

* Stakes Day – held on the Saturday after the Melbourne Cup

Champion mare Makybe Diva won the Melbourne Cup a record three times between 2003-05. David Hall trained her to victory in 2003 before Lee Freedman prepared the mare for her 2004 and 2005 successes. Jockey Glen Boss was in the saddle for all three wins. Dual winners of the Melbourne Cup are Archer (1861-62), Peter Pan (1932, 1934), Rain Lover (1968-69) and Think Big (1974-75). 

Australia’s best-known racehorse Phar Lap captured the Melbourne Cup in 1930. Kingston Rule holds the race record when posting a time of 3:16.30 in 1990. Media Puzzle (2002) also broke 3:17 for the race, while the slowest time goes to Lantern (1864) and Archer (1861) with 3:52. 

The late Bart Cummings, known as the Cups King, is the most successful trainer in the Melbourne Cup as he prepared 12 winners. Next best is Etienne de Mestre with five victories in the 1800s and Lee Freedman with another five. 

When it comes to jockeys, Harry White and Bobby Lewis hold the record with four victories apiece. Michelle Payne is the only female hoop to win a Melbourne Cup, which occurred in 2015 when rank outsider Prince Of Penzance won.





2019 Super Rugby Round 11 Preview & Betting Tips

We have another big round of Super Rugby action ahead of us, highlighted by the Grand Final rematch between the Crusaders and Lions. We have Super Rugby betting tips for every match of Round 11 here. read more

Harness Racing Tips: Gloucester Park - Friday, April 26th

Gloucester Park hosts its usual 10-race card of harness racing this Friday, April 26th. We've covered every race on the card with our tips and best bets here! read more

Flemington Racing Tips: Thursday, April 25th

The VRC St Leger headlines an eight-race card at Flemington on ANZAC Day this Thursday, April 25th. We've run our eye over every race on the card and provided our preview and tips here! read more

2019 NRL: Round 7 Preview & Betting Tips

There's some juicy match-ups this weekend for Round 7 of the 2019 NRL season. Check out our best bets for all games starting with Thursday night's Roosters vs Dragons fixture. read more


Australian Bookmaker Tennis Retirement Rules

With the Australian tennis season in full swing, we take a look at the variety of different betting terms and conditions surrounding retirements in tennis matches at the major Australian sports betting sites. read more

Melbourne Cup

The annual Melbourne Cup is renowned around Australia as 'the race that stops a nation'. Held on the first Tuesday in November every year, the Cup is the richest "two-mile" handicap in the world, and one of the richest turf races. read more

Flemington Racecourse

Flemington Racecourse is the most iconic race track in Australia. It is home to the Melbourne Cup, which many refer to as “the race that stops a nation”. Here's a bit more information about Flemington and the major Australian horse races that it hosts. read more

Moonee Valley Racecourse

Information about Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, home to the Cox Plate and the Manikato Stakes. read more


2019 AFL Round 6 Odds

Round 6 of the 2019 AFL season is a big one with games spread over five days, kicking off with the traditional ANZAC Day clashes at the MCG. Check out the latest betting odds for each Round 6 match thanks to Ladbrokes. read more

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 5

We're five rounds into the season and we have one player polling in every game so far...and it's not who you might think! Check out our analysis of every match and our Brownlow vote predictions for Round 5. read more

2019 AFL Round 5 Odds

Round 5 of the AFL season over Easter weekend sees a smorgasbord of action headlined by a double header on Good Friday and the traditional Hawks vs Cats blockbuster on Easter Monday. We are back once again with the odds for every matchup in Round 5, this week coming courtesy of BetEasy. read more

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 4

The upsets continued in Round 4 of the 2019 AFL season, and with a couple of the leading Brownlow contenders under clouds of injury or suspension, we have a couple of betting tips for you this week. Check it out here in our Round 4 Brownlow vote predictions. read more

Ladbrokes Bonus