2016 Indian Premier League Season Preview

April 11th 2016, 11:33am, By: sribham

The end of T20 World Cup may have completed a tournament of great action for cricket lovers around the world but not in India. The T20 World Cup worked as a trailer to the great entertainment show that has just begun – the ninth season of Indian Premier League (IPL).

The timings of these matches are not particularly favorable to the viewers in Australia but the presence of a strong Australian contingent has always kept interest in IPL going. We take a glimpse at the tournament ahead.

The suspension of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the most successful franchise in IPL history, would have put defending Champions Mumbai Indians (MI) a firm favorite for many. With a very settled team, MI will look to the likes of Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga to carry them forward. Watch out for the fast-rising stock of hard-hitter Hardik Pandya. Odds for MI winning the title are $5.50 at William Hill which does offer some value.

Ahead of them on the favorites list are the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) led by superstar Virat Kohli. They always boasted T20 riches but never ended up as champions and that should be a good-enough reason to motivate them this season. The red-hot form of Kohli and the destructive skills of Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers make them a dangerous opponent. The lack of quality local player back-up may haunt them again but they look a great bet for the title at odds of $4.00 at William Hill.

CSK is now defunct, at least for a couple of seasons, but the ‘Midas-touch’ of MS Dhoni has been captured by the new franchise, Rising Pune Supergiants. The Chennai template of success made its way to Pune with Stephen Fleming, Faf du Plessis and Ravi Ashwin joining Dhoni. This explains the short odds of $5.00 at William Hill on their chances. But, the lack of Indian batting firepower could hinder their ambitions.

Apart from those teams, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) looks to have the firepower to challenge for the title, offered at odds of $7.50 at William Hill.

Watch out for the likes of Rohit Sharma ($10 at William Hill), Gayle ($11 at William Hill) and Ajinkya Rahane ($21 at William Hill) to challenge for the honours of top tournament batsman.

The Australian flavor is provided by David Warner who heads the Hyderabad Sunrisers while all eyes will be on Travis Head and Shane Watson of RCB. Mitchell Starc’s fitness will be watched closely but there is enough interest in other teams too with Steve Smith, the Marsh brothers and Adam Zampa, just a few of the Australian players who will light up IPL this season.

- - -


For cricket discussion during the T20 IPL make sure you follow Mr.Cricket on Twitter @MrCricketBYB

Make sure to read full terms and conditions of any betting promotion before placing any bets - bonuses may not be available to residents of all states. 

_ _ _ 

Take note: Any of the tips in this article are simply the author’s opinion, so bet at your own risk and always gamble responsibly.  Also be sure to check out the Before You Bet Twitter Page for all our thoughts in the lead up to bets! Happy punting!


ESports Betting Tips: CS:GO CS Summit

Six professional CS:GO teams will converge on the Summit House in Los Angeles to compete for a $150,000 prize pool in the fourth annual cs_summit! Catch our preview and tips for the event here read more

Australian Betting Sign Up Bonuses Ending Soon!

The end of an era in Australian online sports betting is fast approaching! As of the 26th of May, Australian bookmakers will no longer be allowed to offer sign up bonuses to new customers! Take advantage of the offers that are still available here. read more

Bendigo Racing Tips: Sunday May 19th

Sunday horse racing sees us head to Bendigo for a big eight-race card. Check out our racing preview and betting tips for every race here! read more

2019 AFL: Round 9 Sunday Preview & Betting Tips

Great little three game slate to look forward to this Sunday in the AFL, headlined by a big clash between the Hawks and Tigers at the MCG! Catch our preview and tips for all three games here read more


Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more

Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more

Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more

Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 9

Our 2019 Brownlow Medal leader was the only contender to pick up votes during Round 9 according to our vote predictions. Do we have it right? Check out our thoughts for each AFL match here. read more

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 8

We have nine players within three votes of the leader in the race for the 2019 Brownlow Medal after Round 8 of the AFL season. Check out where our votes went and who the big movers are here: read more

2019 AFL Round 9 Odds

We're up to Round 9 of the 2019 AFL season, with the action kicking off on Friday night with West Coast hosting Melbourne. Here's the Round 9 betting odds and lines for every match of the round, with thanks to BetEasy. read more

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup will be held from England starting on the 30th of May! If you're a bit like us and find it tenuous to convert the starting times in your head, we have you covered with the full tournament schedule in Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) right here! read more

Ladbrokes Bonus