2019 AFL: Round 6 Melbourne vs Richmond Preview & Betting Tips

April 23rd 2019, 11:10am, By: PuntingInDanger

It’s just a one day break between Rounds 5 and 6 in the AFL with the latter set to get underway on Wednesday night with what has now become the traditional ANZAC Day Eve clash between the Demons and Tigers!

With so much AFL action happening over the next week, be sure to check out our AFL Tips Page for regular previews, tips and more content. Today we take a look at the Round 6 opener between Richmond and Melbourne and give our betting tips for the game below!

AFL Round 6 Richmond vs Melbourne Betting Tips

Wednesday 24th of April, 7.35pm AEST, MCG

The Tigers will be hunting their third straight win after bouncing back from two losses in a row while the Demons will be hoping to get their season on track after losing four of their opening five games.

Richmond

The Tigers looked down and out in the 2019 season after losing arguably their four best players to injury and suspension and consequently losing two games in a row to the Magpies and the Giants. However, they have bounced back to win their last two games in a row, the first of which being a fantastic away win in Adelaide over the Power.

They were dominant from start to finish against the Swans at Marvel Stadium on Saturday night leading for the majority of the game and coming away with a 22 point win. Dion Prestia was fantastic in the win, racking up 32 touches while Dustin Martin returned from his one game suspension with a 25 disposal, 3 goal game.

The Tigers currently sit just outside the top eight as one of nine teams with a 3-2 record after five games. Their injury list is still a concern with Trent Cotchin, Shaun Grigg, Jayden Short, Alex Rance and Jack Riewoldt on the sidelines. Mav Weller could add extra depth and grunt in the Tigers forward line this Wednesday but that’s about the only positive to come out of the medial room at Punt Road.

Melbourne

After losing their first three games of the season, the Demons finally looked to have found some form in Round 4 against the Swans when they captured a 22 point win. However, they failed to back it up against St Kilda at the MCG on Saturday, going down by 40 points in what was a horrendous performance.

The Saints shot out to a three goal lead at the end of the first half and never looked back as they piled on five goals to zero in the third quarter to ice the game completely. Melbourne’s injury list is a real concern, however, they looked disinterested against the Saints and their lack of depth and desire was really put on display.

Clayton Oliver was the best of the bad bunch for the Demons, racking up 31 touches, while Angus Brayshaw had 27 disposals and a goal.

History

2018 Round 5 – Melbourne (8.8.56) lost to Richmond (15.12.102)
2017 Round 5 – Richmond (12.16.88) defeated Melbourne (11.9.75)
2016 Round 5 – Melbourne (20.9.129) defeated Richmond (14.12.96)
2015 Round 4 – Richmond (6.15.51) lost to Melbourne (12.11.83)
2014 Round 9 – Richmond (9.20.74) lost to Melbourne (14.7.91)
2013 Round 8 – Richmond (15.16.106) defeated Melbourne (11.6.72)

Prediction

Hard to have any faith in the Demons at the moment. Their injury list is severe but they also look like they just have no desire to win. The Tigers night not be in as much trouble as many thought after losing back to back games to the Pies and Giants, granted, they are arguably both top four teams.

The Tigers have won their last two games in a row against the Demons and while it seems a few teams in the AFL have figured out how to stem the influence of their run and gun play-style, we don’t think Melbourne are one of them.

The Tigers start as 14.5 point favourites here and we are happy to back them at that spread.


 

 

TIPS

ESports Betting Tips: CS:GO CS Summit

Six professional CS:GO teams will converge on the Summit House in Los Angeles to compete for a $150,000 prize pool in the fourth annual cs_summit! Catch our preview and tips for the event here read more

Australian Betting Sign Up Bonuses Ending Soon!

The end of an era in Australian online sports betting is fast approaching! As of the 26th of May, Australian bookmakers will no longer be allowed to offer sign up bonuses to new customers! Take advantage of the offers that are still available here. read more

Bendigo Racing Tips: Sunday May 19th

Sunday horse racing sees us head to Bendigo for a big eight-race card. Check out our racing preview and betting tips for every race here! read more

2019 AFL: Round 9 Sunday Preview & Betting Tips

Great little three game slate to look forward to this Sunday in the AFL, headlined by a big clash between the Hawks and Tigers at the MCG! Catch our preview and tips for all three games here read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 9

Our 2019 Brownlow Medal leader was the only contender to pick up votes during Round 9 according to our vote predictions. Do we have it right? Check out our thoughts for each AFL match here. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 8

We have nine players within three votes of the leader in the race for the 2019 Brownlow Medal after Round 8 of the AFL season. Check out where our votes went and who the big movers are here: read more


2019 AFL Round 9 Odds

We're up to Round 9 of the 2019 AFL season, with the action kicking off on Friday night with West Coast hosting Melbourne. Here's the Round 9 betting odds and lines for every match of the round, with thanks to BetEasy. read more


2019 ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup will be held from England starting on the 30th of May! If you're a bit like us and find it tenuous to convert the starting times in your head, we have you covered with the full tournament schedule in Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) right here! read more


Ladbrokes Bonus

TopBetta