2019 AFL: Round 6 Melbourne vs Richmond Preview & Betting Tips

April 23rd 2019, 11:10am, By: PuntingInDanger

It’s just a one day break between Rounds 5 and 6 in the AFL with the latter set to get underway on Wednesday night with what has now become the traditional ANZAC Day Eve clash between the Demons and Tigers!

With so much AFL action happening over the next week, be sure to check out our AFL Tips Page for regular previews, tips and more content. Today we take a look at the Round 6 opener between Richmond and Melbourne and give our betting tips for the game below!

AFL Round 6 Richmond vs Melbourne Betting Tips

Wednesday 24th of April, 7.35pm AEST, MCG

The Tigers will be hunting their third straight win after bouncing back from two losses in a row while the Demons will be hoping to get their season on track after losing four of their opening five games.

Richmond

The Tigers looked down and out in the 2019 season after losing arguably their four best players to injury and suspension and consequently losing two games in a row to the Magpies and the Giants. However, they have bounced back to win their last two games in a row, the first of which being a fantastic away win in Adelaide over the Power.

They were dominant from start to finish against the Swans at Marvel Stadium on Saturday night leading for the majority of the game and coming away with a 22 point win. Dion Prestia was fantastic in the win, racking up 32 touches while Dustin Martin returned from his one game suspension with a 25 disposal, 3 goal game.

The Tigers currently sit just outside the top eight as one of nine teams with a 3-2 record after five games. Their injury list is still a concern with Trent Cotchin, Shaun Grigg, Jayden Short, Alex Rance and Jack Riewoldt on the sidelines. Mav Weller could add extra depth and grunt in the Tigers forward line this Wednesday but that’s about the only positive to come out of the medial room at Punt Road.

Melbourne

After losing their first three games of the season, the Demons finally looked to have found some form in Round 4 against the Swans when they captured a 22 point win. However, they failed to back it up against St Kilda at the MCG on Saturday, going down by 40 points in what was a horrendous performance.

The Saints shot out to a three goal lead at the end of the first half and never looked back as they piled on five goals to zero in the third quarter to ice the game completely. Melbourne’s injury list is a real concern, however, they looked disinterested against the Saints and their lack of depth and desire was really put on display.

Clayton Oliver was the best of the bad bunch for the Demons, racking up 31 touches, while Angus Brayshaw had 27 disposals and a goal.

History

2018 Round 5 – Melbourne (8.8.56) lost to Richmond (15.12.102)
2017 Round 5 – Richmond (12.16.88) defeated Melbourne (11.9.75)
2016 Round 5 – Melbourne (20.9.129) defeated Richmond (14.12.96)
2015 Round 4 – Richmond (6.15.51) lost to Melbourne (12.11.83)
2014 Round 9 – Richmond (9.20.74) lost to Melbourne (14.7.91)
2013 Round 8 – Richmond (15.16.106) defeated Melbourne (11.6.72)

Prediction

Hard to have any faith in the Demons at the moment. Their injury list is severe but they also look like they just have no desire to win. The Tigers night not be in as much trouble as many thought after losing back to back games to the Pies and Giants, granted, they are arguably both top four teams.

The Tigers have won their last two games in a row against the Demons and while it seems a few teams in the AFL have figured out how to stem the influence of their run and gun play-style, we don’t think Melbourne are one of them.

The Tigers start as 14.5 point favourites here and we are happy to back them at that spread.


 

 

TIPS

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

Harness Racing Tips: Gloucester Park - Tuesday, July 16th

There's a nine-race card of harness racing at Gloucester Park this Tuesday evening, and our resident harness expert Trent Orwin has provided his best bets here! read more

2019 ATP Newport/Umag/Bastad Betting Tips

There's three ATP Tour tournaments on this weekend with action in Newport, Umag, and Bastad. We provide our best bet for all three events here! read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes