2019 AFL: Round 3 Adelaide vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

April 3rd 2019, 3:23pm, By: PuntingInDanger

Two rounds in the books in the 2019 AFL season and already there are some very interesting storylines moving forward. Can the Demons and Bombers bounce back after two disappointing losses? Will the Tigers regroup after some injury setback? 

Round 3 gets underway this Thursday night as the Adelaide Crows host the Geelong Cats from Adelaide Oval at 7.50pm. We'll be focusing on the Thursday night game in this preview, but if you want previews and tips for the rest of the Round 3 action, make sure you head to our AFL Tips Page.

AFL Round 3 Adelaide vs Geelong Betting Tips

Thursday 4th of April, 7.50pm AEDT, Adelaide Oval

Geelong have been one of the big movers in the Premiership markets early in the season after picking up big wins over Collingwood and Melbourne while Adelaide bounced back on the weekend with a good away win over the Swans. 

Adelaide Crows 

The Crows were disappointing at home in Round 1, going down to an undermanned Hawthorn side by 32 points. They bounced back on the road in Round 2, downing the Swans in Sydney by 26 points as the Crows dynamic forward line fired. Josh Jenkins, David Mackay, Taylor Walker and Eddie Betts combined for six goals between them as the Crows dominated the majority of the game. 

Brad Crouch continued his stellar return from injury. After racking up 28 touches and booting two goals in the Round 1 loss to the Hawks, he was arguably best on ground for the Crows in their Round 2 win as he compiled 26 touches and kicked a goal. Along with his brother Matt, Rory Sloane and Bryce Gibbs, the Crows now possess a midfield capable of going toe to toe with the best in the league. 

While they did lose key defender Tom Doedee in Round 1 for the season with an ACL injury, the Crows actually have one of the best looking injury lists in the league at the moment. Only Doedee and Richard Douglas are missing from their potential best 22, which is a selection problem they haven't had since making the Grand Final in 2017. 

Geelong Cats

The Cats have been the most impressive side in the competition throughout the first two rounds. Considering the Magpies are the premiership favourites after a big win over the Tigers on the weekend, the Cats win over Collingwood in Round 1 carries even more weight. Geelong backed it up in Round 2 by absolutely pulverising the Demons down at GMHBA Stadium to the tune of 80 points. 

Patrick Dangerfield was dominant in the win, accumulating 37 touches and kicking two goals while Tim Kelly continued to prove why he will be one of the most saught after recruits next off-season with another strong game. The Cats are having to rely less on their proven stars in Dangerfield, Ablett and Selwood and are consistently getting more production from youngsters in the likes of Charlie Constable, Tim Kelly, Gyran Miers and Brandan Parfitt. 

Amazingly, the Cats still have some real talent to bring back into this side. Hard nosed midfielder Scott Selwood and running defender Zach Tuohy will return in another few weeks while Zac Smith, Cam Guthrie, Jed Bews and Nakia Cockatoo will all pose selection problems over the next month. 

History

2018 Round 17 - Adelaide (16.16.112) defeated Geelong (14.13.97) 
2017 Prelim Final - Adelaide (21.10.136) defeated Geelong (10.15.75)
2017 Round 18 - Adelaide (13.13.91) defeated Geelong (10.10.70)
2017 Round 11 - Geelong (13.18.96) defeated Adelaide (10.14.74)
2016 Round 18 - Geelong (12.13.85) defeated Adelaide (7.13.55)
2016 Round 8 - Adelaide (11.6.72) lost to Geelong (13.20.98)  

Prediction

The home side has won the last five games in a row between these two teams, including the 2017 Preliminary Final. Because of that, the Crows start as the slightest of favourites here at just 1.5 points. The Crows didn't look super convincing against the Hawks at home in Round 1, which leaves a bit of a bad taste in the mouth, and we are yet to know how much weight that Swans win really carries after the Swans were beaten by the Bulldogs in Round 1. 

Geelong, on the other hand, have reeled off two big wins against opponents that the majority of the AFL had finishing inside the top four this season. Hard to look past them in the form they are in at the moment, especially given they trounced Melbourne by 80 points while Gary Ablett and Joel Selwood both having below average games. 

 

 

 

TIPS

2019 AFL: Round 18 Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season begins on Friday night with the Crows hosting the Bombers at Adelaide Oval. We preview the match here and provide our best bet! read more

Horse Racing Tips: Thursday, July 18th

The horse racing action continues on Thursday as we build toward the weekend, and Luke Krahe has provided his best bets for Gosford, Ballarat, Gatton and Moree here! read more

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes