2019 AFL: Round 2 Sydney vs Adelaide Preview & Betting Tips

March 28th 2019, 1:35pm, By: Jake Smit

Round 2 of the2019 AFL season continues on Friday night with an intriguing encounter that sees the Swans host the Crows at the SCG. Both teams are coming off a disappointing round one loss, meaning this should be a hotly fought contest between two teams desperately trying to avoid starting off 0-2 on the year. Below, we’ve provided a comprehensive preview of the blockbuster clash, as well as our usual best bet for the game. As always, good luck to everyone following!

We’ve had a great start to the season with our footy tips bringing about great return on investment for our followers. Here, we’re focusing purely on the Friday night game between the Swans and the Crows, but if you’re after previews and tips for the rest of the Round 2 action, make sure you head to our AFL Tips Page.

AFL Round 2 Richmond vs Collingwood Betting Tips

Friday 29thof March, 7:20pm AEDT, SCG

We’ve got an intruiging Friday night match on our hands in Round 2 with the Sydney Swans hosting the Adelaide Crows at the SCG. Both clubs are expecting to improve on what were largely disappointing 2018 campaigns, although they both got off to rocky starts this season with Round 1 losses.

Sydney Swans

The Swans didn’t start the season the way they would’ve hoped, going down to the Dogs at Marvel Stadium in Round 1. They came out of the blocks extremely sluggish and found themselves down by as many as 40 points early in the third term, but were able to rally back to within four points midway through the fourth quarter after a flurry of goals. However, they ran out of gas and eventually went down by 17 points. Jake Lloyd was the best Swan on the night with 35 touches and 10 marks, while Buddy Franklin was quiet with just seven touches and a goal.

The good news from the Swans opening match was there were no real injury scares other than a couple of niggles, and they now get to return home to Sydney and play in front of their home fans in a Friday night fixture. It’ll be interesting to see the changes (if any) that John Longmire makes for Round 2, but we aren’t expecting too much of an overreaction after one loss from such an experienced and successful coach.

Adelaide Crows

Much like the Swans, the Crows were very disappointing in their first match of the new season. Like many, we expected a much stronger and determined Crows outfit to show up in Round 1, but it just seemed like the same team we saw that missed the finals in 2018. The Crows were competitive enough in the first half to trail by nine points at the main break, but after half time they were outclassed and outplayed by the Hawks and eventually went down by 32 points. Matt Crouch (40 disposals) and Rory Sloane (36) found plenty of the ball in midfield, but Eddie Betts (two goals) and Taylor Walker (one behind) didn’t provide their usual spark up forward.

Another dark cloud over their Round 1 loss was the injury to young star backman Tom Doedee, who looks set to miss the entire season with an ACL tear he suffered just before half time. Richard Douglas also pulled up sore from an ankle sprain and will likely spend some time on the sidelines.

Unlike the Swans, we do expect Don Pyke to shake things up at least a little bit ahead of their trip to Sydney. Injuries to two key players in Douglas and Doedee force his hand in a way, as does the minimal impact that his forward line (combined for two goals) had on their Round 1 match.

History

2018 Round 5 – Sydney (10.15.75) lost to Adelaide(12.13.85)
2017 Round 22 – Adelaide (11.14.80) lost to Sydney(13.5.83)
2016 Semi-final – Sydney(18.10.100) dftd Adelaide (12.10.82)
2016 Round 4 – Adelaide(16.17.113) dftd Sydney (15.13.103)
2015 Round 18 – Sydney(17.15.117) dftd Adelaide (9.11.65)

Prediction

All things considered; this is an extremely tough match-up to predict in terms of the head-to-head markets. Both the Crows and the Swans had forgettable Round 1 performances that provided more questions than answers. If we were to make a play on this one, we’d slightly lean towards the Swans at home, but we aren’t confident enough in that to recommend a play on that market. Instead, we’ve looked for value elsewhere and believe we’ve found some in the total points line.

A lot of ‘experts’ predicted a play on the over the total points market was the way to go in Round 1 due to a few tweaks in the rules. However, just about every game ended up going unders, with plenty of extremely low scores. The line for this match has opened at 164.5, which we believe is at least 10-15 points too high when you consider the struggles both the Crows and the Swans had with scoring in Round 1. The two teams combined for 120 points in the opening round and had minimal scoreboard impact from their key players. Further, the last two meetings between these teams have gone under the 164.5 mark, and 12 of Adelaide’s last 13 Friday night matches have also hit the unders. Simply put, we expect a low scoring and very contested battle on Friday night with a total score around the 140-150 mark.

TIPS

2019 Super Rugby Round 11 Preview & Betting Tips

We have another big round of Super Rugby action ahead of us, highlighted by the Grand Final rematch between the Crusaders and Lions. We have Super Rugby betting tips for every match of Round 11 here. read more

Harness Racing Tips: Gloucester Park - Friday, April 26th

Gloucester Park hosts its usual 10-race card of harness racing this Friday, April 26th. We've covered every race on the card with our tips and best bets here! read more

Flemington Racing Tips: Thursday, April 25th

The VRC St Leger headlines an eight-race card at Flemington on ANZAC Day this Thursday, April 25th. We've run our eye over every race on the card and provided our preview and tips here! read more

2019 NRL: Round 7 Preview & Betting Tips

There's some juicy match-ups this weekend for Round 7 of the 2019 NRL season. Check out our best bets for all games starting with Thursday night's Roosters vs Dragons fixture. read more

ARTICLES

Australian Bookmaker Tennis Retirement Rules

With the Australian tennis season in full swing, we take a look at the variety of different betting terms and conditions surrounding retirements in tennis matches at the major Australian sports betting sites. read more


Melbourne Cup

The annual Melbourne Cup is renowned around Australia as 'the race that stops a nation'. Held on the first Tuesday in November every year, the Cup is the richest "two-mile" handicap in the world, and one of the richest turf races. read more


Flemington Racecourse

Flemington Racecourse is the most iconic race track in Australia. It is home to the Melbourne Cup, which many refer to as “the race that stops a nation”. Here's a bit more information about Flemington and the major Australian horse races that it hosts. read more


Moonee Valley Racecourse

Information about Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, home to the Cox Plate and the Manikato Stakes. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Round 6 Odds

Round 6 of the 2019 AFL season is a big one with games spread over five days, kicking off with the traditional ANZAC Day clashes at the MCG. Check out the latest betting odds for each Round 6 match thanks to Ladbrokes. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 5

We're five rounds into the season and we have one player polling in every game so far...and it's not who you might think! Check out our analysis of every match and our Brownlow vote predictions for Round 5. read more


2019 AFL Round 5 Odds

Round 5 of the AFL season over Easter weekend sees a smorgasbord of action headlined by a double header on Good Friday and the traditional Hawks vs Cats blockbuster on Easter Monday. We are back once again with the odds for every matchup in Round 5, this week coming courtesy of BetEasy. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 4

The upsets continued in Round 4 of the 2019 AFL season, and with a couple of the leading Brownlow contenders under clouds of injury or suspension, we have a couple of betting tips for you this week. Check it out here in our Round 4 Brownlow vote predictions. read more


Ladbrokes Bonus

TopBetta