2019 AFL: Round 2 Sydney vs Adelaide Preview & Betting Tips

March 28th 2019, 1:35pm, By: Jake Smit

Round 2 of the2019 AFL season continues on Friday night with an intriguing encounter that sees the Swans host the Crows at the SCG. Both teams are coming off a disappointing round one loss, meaning this should be a hotly fought contest between two teams desperately trying to avoid starting off 0-2 on the year. Below, we’ve provided a comprehensive preview of the blockbuster clash, as well as our usual best bet for the game. As always, good luck to everyone following!

We’ve had a great start to the season with our footy tips bringing about great return on investment for our followers. Here, we’re focusing purely on the Friday night game between the Swans and the Crows, but if you’re after previews and tips for the rest of the Round 2 action, make sure you head to our AFL Tips Page.

AFL Round 2 Richmond vs Collingwood Betting Tips

Friday 29thof March, 7:20pm AEDT, SCG

We’ve got an intruiging Friday night match on our hands in Round 2 with the Sydney Swans hosting the Adelaide Crows at the SCG. Both clubs are expecting to improve on what were largely disappointing 2018 campaigns, although they both got off to rocky starts this season with Round 1 losses.

Sydney Swans

The Swans didn’t start the season the way they would’ve hoped, going down to the Dogs at Marvel Stadium in Round 1. They came out of the blocks extremely sluggish and found themselves down by as many as 40 points early in the third term, but were able to rally back to within four points midway through the fourth quarter after a flurry of goals. However, they ran out of gas and eventually went down by 17 points. Jake Lloyd was the best Swan on the night with 35 touches and 10 marks, while Buddy Franklin was quiet with just seven touches and a goal.

The good news from the Swans opening match was there were no real injury scares other than a couple of niggles, and they now get to return home to Sydney and play in front of their home fans in a Friday night fixture. It’ll be interesting to see the changes (if any) that John Longmire makes for Round 2, but we aren’t expecting too much of an overreaction after one loss from such an experienced and successful coach.

Adelaide Crows

Much like the Swans, the Crows were very disappointing in their first match of the new season. Like many, we expected a much stronger and determined Crows outfit to show up in Round 1, but it just seemed like the same team we saw that missed the finals in 2018. The Crows were competitive enough in the first half to trail by nine points at the main break, but after half time they were outclassed and outplayed by the Hawks and eventually went down by 32 points. Matt Crouch (40 disposals) and Rory Sloane (36) found plenty of the ball in midfield, but Eddie Betts (two goals) and Taylor Walker (one behind) didn’t provide their usual spark up forward.

Another dark cloud over their Round 1 loss was the injury to young star backman Tom Doedee, who looks set to miss the entire season with an ACL tear he suffered just before half time. Richard Douglas also pulled up sore from an ankle sprain and will likely spend some time on the sidelines.

Unlike the Swans, we do expect Don Pyke to shake things up at least a little bit ahead of their trip to Sydney. Injuries to two key players in Douglas and Doedee force his hand in a way, as does the minimal impact that his forward line (combined for two goals) had on their Round 1 match.

History

2018 Round 5 – Sydney (10.15.75) lost to Adelaide(12.13.85)
2017 Round 22 – Adelaide (11.14.80) lost to Sydney(13.5.83)
2016 Semi-final – Sydney(18.10.100) dftd Adelaide (12.10.82)
2016 Round 4 – Adelaide(16.17.113) dftd Sydney (15.13.103)
2015 Round 18 – Sydney(17.15.117) dftd Adelaide (9.11.65)

Prediction

All things considered; this is an extremely tough match-up to predict in terms of the head-to-head markets. Both the Crows and the Swans had forgettable Round 1 performances that provided more questions than answers. If we were to make a play on this one, we’d slightly lean towards the Swans at home, but we aren’t confident enough in that to recommend a play on that market. Instead, we’ve looked for value elsewhere and believe we’ve found some in the total points line.

A lot of ‘experts’ predicted a play on the over the total points market was the way to go in Round 1 due to a few tweaks in the rules. However, just about every game ended up going unders, with plenty of extremely low scores. The line for this match has opened at 164.5, which we believe is at least 10-15 points too high when you consider the struggles both the Crows and the Swans had with scoring in Round 1. The two teams combined for 120 points in the opening round and had minimal scoreboard impact from their key players. Further, the last two meetings between these teams have gone under the 164.5 mark, and 12 of Adelaide’s last 13 Friday night matches have also hit the unders. Simply put, we expect a low scoring and very contested battle on Friday night with a total score around the 140-150 mark.

TIPS

2019 AFL: Round 18 Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season begins on Friday night with the Crows hosting the Bombers at Adelaide Oval. We preview the match here and provide our best bet! read more

Horse Racing Tips: Thursday, July 18th

The horse racing action continues on Thursday as we build toward the weekend, and Luke Krahe has provided his best bets for Gosford, Ballarat, Gatton and Moree here! read more

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes