2019 AFL: Round 4 Sydney vs Melbourne Preview & Betting Tips

April 11th 2019, 11:32am, By: PuntingInDanger

Round 4 in the 2019 AFL season is set to be an exciting one with some massive clashes on the cards. The round gets underway on Thursday night as Sydney host Melbourne, who are still searching for their first win of the season after being an early premiership contender.

There is a bunch of great AFL content and resources available at Before You Bet this week, so hit the links below if you want to check any of it out! 

- AFL Rolling Premiership Odds Comparison (BetEasy, Ladbrokes, Sportsbet, TAB)
- AFL Round 4 Odds
- AFL Friday Night: Collingwood vs Western Bulldogs Betting Tips (Coming Soon)
- AFL Saturday Slate Betting Tips (Coming Soon)
- AFL Sunday Slate Betting Tips (Coming Soon)

AFL Round 4 Sydney vs Melbourne Betting Tips

Thursday 11th of April, 7.20pm AEST, SCG

Will the Swans make it two in a row in Sydney this Thursday night or can the Demons finally get their season rolling with a win?

Sydney Swans

After disappointing losses in the first two rounds of the season, the Swans finally got on the board in 2019 with a hard fought win over Carlton in Round 3. The win might set more worry in the hearts of Swans fans than relief, however, as they stumbled over the line against a Blues side that has to be thought of a real bottom four contender this season.

Reigning best and fairest winner Jake Lloyd was resolute in defence, racking up 32 disposals while Josh Kennedy dominated the midfield battle with 31 touches and a goal. It was young star Isaac Heeney who proved to be the difference for the Swans though, racking up 26 touches, 8 marks and 4 goals in the win.

Full back Heath Grundy could be a big addition after missing the clash with Carlton on the weekend while key players Daniel Menzel and Nick Smith are still without a return timetable. Other than that, the Swans injury list is actually one of best in the league at the moment and although they are just 1-2, probably deserve to be favourites on Thursday night.

Melbourne Demons

Melbourne has been without doubt the disappointment of the 2019 AFL season so far. After many pundits had them winning the premiership this season, they have suffered losses to the Power, Cats and Bombers by an average margin of just over 41 points. The road doesn’t get much easier for the Demons, with games against the Swans, Tigers, Hawks, Eagles, Giants, Crows and Magpies in their next nine games.

Angus Brayshaw was a shining light for the Demons against the Bombers. The 23-year-old racked up 34 touches and a goal to claim best on ground honours for the Demons. Melbourne’s offence also looked a lot better than it did in the first two rounds. They managed to put up a combined 107 points against Port Adelaide and Geelong but kicked 18.4 against the Bombers as JamesHarmes and Jayden Hunt booted three each.

The Demons injury list is a real issue at the moment. Jeff Garlett could return to the line-up this weekend but the Demons will still be without Jake Lever, Jordan Lewis, Steven May, Mitch Hannan and Charlie Spargo.

History

2018 Round 21 – Melbourne (10.18.78) lost to Sydney (13.9.87)
2017 Round 15 – Melbourne (7.8.50) lost to Sydney (11.19.85)
2016 Round 13 – Sydney (12.14.86) defeated Melbourne (4.7.31)
2015 Round 6 – Melbourne (7.8.50) lost to Sydney (12.16.88)
2014 Round 6 – Melbourne (5.8.38) lost to Sydney (9.15.69)
2013 Round 15 – Melbourne (13.7.85) lost to Sydney (16.20.116)
2012 Round 8 – Sydney (21.12.138) defeated Melbourne (5.7.37)

Prediction

Amazingly, the Swans have won their last seven games against the Demons dating all the way back to 2011. Their most recent matchup came in Round 21 last season where Sydney ran slaimed a tight 9 point win at the MCG. The game will be played on Sydney’s turf this time around, although the Swans were comfortably beaten at the SCG by the Adelaide Crows in Round 2.

Tough to side with the Demons with their form at the moment, but Sydney could just as easily be 0-3 if it weren’t for the schedule tossing up a game against Carlton on the weekend in which they barely managed a win. Sydney’s offence has been a major concern, they put up just 63.5 points per game in their first two matches and struggled to score consistently against the Blues on the weekend as well.

In a battle of two majorly out of form teams, we are going to take the home side to get the job done.

TIP: Sydney -5.5 - $1.90 at Sportsbet

 

 

TIPS

2019 AFL: Round 18 Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season begins on Friday night with the Crows hosting the Bombers at Adelaide Oval. We preview the match here and provide our best bet! read more

Horse Racing Tips: Thursday, July 18th

The horse racing action continues on Thursday as we build toward the weekend, and Luke Krahe has provided his best bets for Gosford, Ballarat, Gatton and Moree here! read more

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes