2019 AFL: Round 4 Sydney vs Melbourne Preview & Betting Tips

April 11th 2019, 11:32am, By: PuntingInDanger

Round 4 in the 2019 AFL season is set to be an exciting one with some massive clashes on the cards. The round gets underway on Thursday night as Sydney host Melbourne, who are still searching for their first win of the season after being an early premiership contender.

There is a bunch of great AFL content and resources available at Before You Bet this week, so hit the links below if you want to check any of it out! 

- AFL Rolling Premiership Odds Comparison (BetEasy, Ladbrokes, Sportsbet, TAB)
- AFL Round 4 Odds
- AFL Friday Night: Collingwood vs Western Bulldogs Betting Tips (Coming Soon)
- AFL Saturday Slate Betting Tips (Coming Soon)
- AFL Sunday Slate Betting Tips (Coming Soon)

AFL Round 4 Sydney vs Melbourne Betting Tips

Thursday 11th of April, 7.20pm AEST, SCG

Will the Swans make it two in a row in Sydney this Thursday night or can the Demons finally get their season rolling with a win?

Sydney Swans

After disappointing losses in the first two rounds of the season, the Swans finally got on the board in 2019 with a hard fought win over Carlton in Round 3. The win might set more worry in the hearts of Swans fans than relief, however, as they stumbled over the line against a Blues side that has to be thought of a real bottom four contender this season.

Reigning best and fairest winner Jake Lloyd was resolute in defence, racking up 32 disposals while Josh Kennedy dominated the midfield battle with 31 touches and a goal. It was young star Isaac Heeney who proved to be the difference for the Swans though, racking up 26 touches, 8 marks and 4 goals in the win.

Full back Heath Grundy could be a big addition after missing the clash with Carlton on the weekend while key players Daniel Menzel and Nick Smith are still without a return timetable. Other than that, the Swans injury list is actually one of best in the league at the moment and although they are just 1-2, probably deserve to be favourites on Thursday night.

Melbourne Demons

Melbourne has been without doubt the disappointment of the 2019 AFL season so far. After many pundits had them winning the premiership this season, they have suffered losses to the Power, Cats and Bombers by an average margin of just over 41 points. The road doesn’t get much easier for the Demons, with games against the Swans, Tigers, Hawks, Eagles, Giants, Crows and Magpies in their next nine games.

Angus Brayshaw was a shining light for the Demons against the Bombers. The 23-year-old racked up 34 touches and a goal to claim best on ground honours for the Demons. Melbourne’s offence also looked a lot better than it did in the first two rounds. They managed to put up a combined 107 points against Port Adelaide and Geelong but kicked 18.4 against the Bombers as JamesHarmes and Jayden Hunt booted three each.

The Demons injury list is a real issue at the moment. Jeff Garlett could return to the line-up this weekend but the Demons will still be without Jake Lever, Jordan Lewis, Steven May, Mitch Hannan and Charlie Spargo.

History

2018 Round 21 – Melbourne (10.18.78) lost to Sydney (13.9.87)
2017 Round 15 – Melbourne (7.8.50) lost to Sydney (11.19.85)
2016 Round 13 – Sydney (12.14.86) defeated Melbourne (4.7.31)
2015 Round 6 – Melbourne (7.8.50) lost to Sydney (12.16.88)
2014 Round 6 – Melbourne (5.8.38) lost to Sydney (9.15.69)
2013 Round 15 – Melbourne (13.7.85) lost to Sydney (16.20.116)
2012 Round 8 – Sydney (21.12.138) defeated Melbourne (5.7.37)

Prediction

Amazingly, the Swans have won their last seven games against the Demons dating all the way back to 2011. Their most recent matchup came in Round 21 last season where Sydney ran slaimed a tight 9 point win at the MCG. The game will be played on Sydney’s turf this time around, although the Swans were comfortably beaten at the SCG by the Adelaide Crows in Round 2.

Tough to side with the Demons with their form at the moment, but Sydney could just as easily be 0-3 if it weren’t for the schedule tossing up a game against Carlton on the weekend in which they barely managed a win. Sydney’s offence has been a major concern, they put up just 63.5 points per game in their first two matches and struggled to score consistently against the Blues on the weekend as well.

In a battle of two majorly out of form teams, we are going to take the home side to get the job done.

TIP: Sydney -5.5 - $1.90 at Sportsbet

 

 

TIPS

2019 Super Rugby Round 11 Preview & Betting Tips

We have another big round of Super Rugby action ahead of us, highlighted by the Grand Final rematch between the Crusaders and Lions. We have Super Rugby betting tips for every match of Round 11 here. read more

Harness Racing Tips: Gloucester Park - Friday, April 26th

Gloucester Park hosts its usual 10-race card of harness racing this Friday, April 26th. We've covered every race on the card with our tips and best bets here! read more

Flemington Racing Tips: Thursday, April 25th

The VRC St Leger headlines an eight-race card at Flemington on ANZAC Day this Thursday, April 25th. We've run our eye over every race on the card and provided our preview and tips here! read more

2019 NRL: Round 7 Preview & Betting Tips

There's some juicy match-ups this weekend for Round 7 of the 2019 NRL season. Check out our best bets for all games starting with Thursday night's Roosters vs Dragons fixture. read more

ARTICLES

Australian Bookmaker Tennis Retirement Rules

With the Australian tennis season in full swing, we take a look at the variety of different betting terms and conditions surrounding retirements in tennis matches at the major Australian sports betting sites. read more


Melbourne Cup

The annual Melbourne Cup is renowned around Australia as 'the race that stops a nation'. Held on the first Tuesday in November every year, the Cup is the richest "two-mile" handicap in the world, and one of the richest turf races. read more


Flemington Racecourse

Flemington Racecourse is the most iconic race track in Australia. It is home to the Melbourne Cup, which many refer to as “the race that stops a nation”. Here's a bit more information about Flemington and the major Australian horse races that it hosts. read more


Moonee Valley Racecourse

Information about Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, home to the Cox Plate and the Manikato Stakes. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Round 6 Odds

Round 6 of the 2019 AFL season is a big one with games spread over five days, kicking off with the traditional ANZAC Day clashes at the MCG. Check out the latest betting odds for each Round 6 match thanks to Ladbrokes. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 5

We're five rounds into the season and we have one player polling in every game so far...and it's not who you might think! Check out our analysis of every match and our Brownlow vote predictions for Round 5. read more


2019 AFL Round 5 Odds

Round 5 of the AFL season over Easter weekend sees a smorgasbord of action headlined by a double header on Good Friday and the traditional Hawks vs Cats blockbuster on Easter Monday. We are back once again with the odds for every matchup in Round 5, this week coming courtesy of BetEasy. read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Vote Predictions Round 4

The upsets continued in Round 4 of the 2019 AFL season, and with a couple of the leading Brownlow contenders under clouds of injury or suspension, we have a couple of betting tips for you this week. Check it out here in our Round 4 Brownlow vote predictions. read more


Ladbrokes Bonus

TopBetta