2019 AFL: Round 2 Richmond vs Collingwood Preview & Betting Tips

March 28th 2019, 12:13pm, By: PuntingInDanger

The 2019 AFL season got off to a great start last weekend with nearly a full round of upset results! If you scored more than four or five in your tipping than you were better than most. As for BYB, we had a marginal winning weekend, hitting on 5/9 betting tips, all priced at odds of $1.90 or better. 

It was our value tips where punters found some tasty odds, however, as we hit on winners at $4.50, $2.30 and $2.80. We'll look to find some more value this weekend as we provide previews and betting tips for all nine games in Round 2 of the 2019 AFL Premiership season.

Our Round 2 coverage starts with a standalone preview for the Thursday night blockbuster game between the Richmond Tigers and the Collingwood Magpies from the MCG. That game will be our focus today, but if you want previews and tips for the rest of the Round 2 action, make sure you head to our AFL Tips Page.

AFL Round 2 Richmond vs Collingwood Betting Tips

Thursday 28th March, 7.20pm AEDT, MCG

It'll be a preliminary final rematch on Thursday night as the Tigers look to avenge their shock loss to the Magpies in September last year. The Pies defeated the Tigers by 39 points that night to advance to the Grand Final but will enter Thursday night as underdogs. 

Richmond Tigers 

The Tigers got their season off to a hot start by defeating the Blues in the annual season opener last Thursday night. Richmond shot out to an early lead, kicking the first five goals of the game before Carlton finally found their feet in the second quarter. The Blues brought the margin back to just 13 points in the third quarter before Richmond, led by some dominant play from Toby Nankervis, Jack Higgins and Trent Cotchin, kicked away in the fourth to claim a 33 point win. 

The win wasn't without its setbacks for the Tigers, however, as five time All-Australian defender Alex Rance suffered a season ending ACL injury during the third quarter. The loss of Rance will definetely throw a spanner into the works of the Tigers season but one small positive that can be taken from the blow is that it happened so early in the season, giving the team time to adjust to life without the star backman. Young swingman Noah Balta looks likely to move to defence with Jason Costagna set to return from ankle injury this week. 

The injury to Rance is very unlikely to derail the Richmond season, I think it's more likely to prove how good of a side they actually are. Their whole gameplan doesnt rely on defence, it relies on getting the ball forward quickly, by any means neccessary and proceeding to lock it in there with relentless pressure. 

Likely Changes: Rance (out) Costagna (in)

Collingwood Magpies

The Magpies weren't as impressive in Round 1, as they succumb to the Geelong Cats by seven points at the MCG on Friday night. After kicking out to a 10 point lead in the 3rd quarter, the Pies looked to be in a comfortable position, with their midfield controlling the stoppages and in turn the flow of the game. 

Where the Pies came undone was their ability to ind targets inside the forward 50. The Cats racked up 14 marks inside the arc while the Pies had just 7. While they have a relatively small forward line led by the likes of Jamie Elliot, Jordan De Goey and Jaidyn Stephenson, the above average ball use of the Pies midfield, particularly Steele Sidebottom and Scott Pendlebury, should result in more marks inside 50. 

If the Pies are to be more competitive in 2019, they need more from big forward Mason Cox, who dominated the last time Collingwood faced the Tigers. Big Cox doesn't neccessarily need to mark everything, he does however, need to create contests and bring the ball to ground for the likes of Elliot, De Goey and Stephenson. 

Likely Changes: none

History

2018 Preliminary - Richmond (8.10.58) lost to Collingwood (15.7.97)
2018 Round 19 - Richmond (16.9.105) defeated Collingwood (12.5.77)
2018 Round 6 - Collingwood (10.10.70) lost to Richmond (16.17.113)
2017 Round 2 - Richmond (14.15.99) defeated Collingwood (11.14.80)
2016 Round 20 - Richmond (14.8.92) defeated Collingwood (11.11.77)
2016 Round 2 - Collingwood (13.9.87) defeated Richmond (12.14.86)

Prediction 

Tough game to call here. The Tigers start as slight 2.5 point favourites but might take some time to adjust to life without Rance. Collingwood should be fired up after a tough Round 1 loss and we attribute a portion of that loss to the greasy conditions on the night which didn't really suit their usual slick ball movement. No rain predicted for Friday, so it should be good conditions for footy, which has us thinking the Collingwood midfield should control this game as they did back in the Prelim last season. 

There are some absolutely tantalising midfield matchups on offer here. Dayne Beams vs Dustin Martin head to head could be one for the ages while Adam Trelor and Kane Lambert have dueled in the past. Toby Nankervis was a standout in Round 1 while Brodie Grundy struggled against a part time ruckman in Rhys Stanley, the ruck battle will be massive here. If Grundy can get on top and give his midfield first use, it will go a long way towards winning the match. 

 

 

TIPS

2019 AFL: Round 18 Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season begins on Friday night with the Crows hosting the Bombers at Adelaide Oval. We preview the match here and provide our best bet! read more

Horse Racing Tips: Thursday, July 18th

The horse racing action continues on Thursday as we build toward the weekend, and Luke Krahe has provided his best bets for Gosford, Ballarat, Gatton and Moree here! read more

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes