2019 AFL: Round 6 Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne Preview & Betting Tips

April 25th 2019, 11:17am, By: PuntingInDanger

Friday night in Round 6 of the AFL offers up a tasty little fixture between Port Adelaide and North Melbourne at Adelaide Oval. Our Round 6 coverage continues today as we break down the Friday night clash in full and give our betting tips below.

Don’t forget, Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne will be our focus today, but you can head to our AFL Tips Page for a bunch of content for Round 6 in the AFL including preview and tips for EVERY GAME.

AFL Round 6 Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne Betting Tips

Friday 26th of April, 7.50pm AEST, MCG

Port Adelaide will be looking to make it two wins in a row when they host the Kangaroos on Friday night at Adelaide Oval. North Melbourne, who has been disappointing on the season so far with just one win, will be hoping to get their year back on track with an away win.

Port Adelaide

The Power captured a fantastic win over the West Coast Eagles in Perth in Round 5 and will look to make it two in a row as they return to Adelaide Oval on Friday night. They were dominant from start to finish in a weird game against the Eagles as they piled on nine goals to two in the first half to run out 42 point winners.

Ollie Wines was back to his best in the win, racking up 35 touches and kicking one goal while the Port Adelaide small/medium forwards in Brad Ebert, Sam Gray and Xavier Duursma booted six goals between them. Sam Powell-Pepper was arguably the pick of the midfielders as he thrived in the wet weather

Port Adelaide still await the return of key forward Charlie Dixon, who still has no timetable for his recovery from a leg injury, however, they could be boosted by experienced half-back Hamish Hartlett this Friday night, who has been out with a hamstring strain.

North Melbourne

After many expected them to be one team that pushes for finals contention this season, North Melbourne have started the 2019 AFL season on the back foot. They have lost four of their first five games, the most recent of which a 58 point decimation at the hands of the Bombers.

The North Melbourne midfielders have been great at getting hard ball throughout the season so far but have really lacked polish, particularly around goal as they kicked 7 goals, 16 behinds in the loss to the Bombers on the weekend.

The Roos injury list is a bit of an issue at the moment as a bunch of key players remain on the sidelines in the likes of Marley Williams, Ben Jacobs, Majak Daw and Ed Vickers-Willis.

History

2018 Round 6 – North Melbourne (10.9.69) lost to Port Adelaide (15.12.102)
2017 Round 17 – Port Adelaide (19.13.127) defeated North Melbourne (8.9.57)
2016 Round 17 – North Melbourne (10.17.77) lost to Port Adelaide (16.9.105)
2015 Round 3 – North Melbourne (16.9.105) lost to Port Adelaide (17.11.113)
2014 Round 3 – North Melbourne (14.13.97) defeated Port Adelaide (13.12.90)
2013 Round 6 – North Melbourne (14.9.93) defeated Port Adelaide (12.11.83)

Prediction

Port Adelaide start as 22.5 point favourites here which we think is a little low given the dominant win they had in one of the tougher places to play football, against West Coast in Perth, on the weekend.

On the contrary, it’s hard to like the form of North Melbourne at the moment. They came up against a rabble of a Crows team in Round 4 which saw them earn their only win for the season and apart from that, they have been pretty dismal. Can’t see them winning in Adelaide Oval, where they are yet to record a win in six attempts.


 

 

TIPS

South Africa vs Australia T20 Series Betting Tips

South Africa will host Australia in a three match T20 series beginning this Saturday night! We have a full preview and betting picks for the series here read more

Boxing Betting Tips: Deontay Wilder vs Tyson Fury 2 Preview

Deontay Wilder will square off against Tyson Fury in the rematch for the heavyweight championship of the world this Sunday! We have a full preview and betting tips for the fight here read more

Horse Racing Tips: Wednesday, February 19th

Racing takes place at three of the premier midweek venues this Wednesday, with Sandown Hillside, Kensington and Ascot each hosting meetings. Find our best bets of the day here! read more

2019-20 A-League: Round 20 Preview & Betting Tips

The A-League season continues this weekend with Round 20. As always, we bring you our best bets from the key fixtures, which you can find right here! read more

ARTICLES

What is Lay Betting?

Lay betting is when you’re betting against an event to occur. You’re betting that a horse won’t win a race, a team won’t win a match or your player will lose to their opponent. Find out more about lay betting at Betfair right here. read more


Understanding the Betfair Exchange

Learn the importance of the Betfair exchange for both recreational and professional punters. In this article we take a closer look at how Betfair works and why it often offers a superior product to the traditional online sports betting operators. read more


2019-20 Big Bash League (BBL09) Squads

The 2019-20 Big Bash League season is set to be a thriller! Check out the full squads for the upcoming BBL09 here read more


Understanding Betfair Staking Plans

In the third instalment of our Betfair instructional series, we take a look at understanding staking plans and how they can be used to stay in control of your bank roll read more


BLOGS

2020 AFLW Season Fixture

The 2020 AFLW season is just around the corner and this year will be bigger than ever! See the full fixture for all 8 rounds in the regular season here read more


2019-20 Big Bash League (BBL09) Predicted Lineups

The 2019-20 Big Bash League gets underway on Tuesday, the 17th of December and as many of the teams won't have their full compliment of players available to them on night one, we have compiled a predicted starting XI for all eight teams in the first week of the tournament here read more


BBL09 Team Preview: Sydney Thunder

The Sydney Thunder will be buoyed by the full-time return of star batsman Usman Khawaja this year, but will it be enough to lift them into the finals in BBL09? See our full Sydney Thunder preview here read more


BBL09 Team Preview: Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers are one of the more successful sides in Big Bash League history, having won the title once and made the finals in five of eight seasons. Can they make waves in BBL09? See our full Sixers team preview here read more


Betfair