2019 AFL: Round 6 Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne Preview & Betting Tips

April 25th 2019, 11:17am, By: PuntingInDanger

Friday night in Round 6 of the AFL offers up a tasty little fixture between Port Adelaide and North Melbourne at Adelaide Oval. Our Round 6 coverage continues today as we break down the Friday night clash in full and give our betting tips below.

Don’t forget, Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne will be our focus today, but you can head to our AFL Tips Page for a bunch of content for Round 6 in the AFL including preview and tips for EVERY GAME.

AFL Round 6 Port Adelaide vs North Melbourne Betting Tips

Friday 26th of April, 7.50pm AEST, MCG

Port Adelaide will be looking to make it two wins in a row when they host the Kangaroos on Friday night at Adelaide Oval. North Melbourne, who has been disappointing on the season so far with just one win, will be hoping to get their year back on track with an away win.

Port Adelaide

The Power captured a fantastic win over the West Coast Eagles in Perth in Round 5 and will look to make it two in a row as they return to Adelaide Oval on Friday night. They were dominant from start to finish in a weird game against the Eagles as they piled on nine goals to two in the first half to run out 42 point winners.

Ollie Wines was back to his best in the win, racking up 35 touches and kicking one goal while the Port Adelaide small/medium forwards in Brad Ebert, Sam Gray and Xavier Duursma booted six goals between them. Sam Powell-Pepper was arguably the pick of the midfielders as he thrived in the wet weather

Port Adelaide still await the return of key forward Charlie Dixon, who still has no timetable for his recovery from a leg injury, however, they could be boosted by experienced half-back Hamish Hartlett this Friday night, who has been out with a hamstring strain.

North Melbourne

After many expected them to be one team that pushes for finals contention this season, North Melbourne have started the 2019 AFL season on the back foot. They have lost four of their first five games, the most recent of which a 58 point decimation at the hands of the Bombers.

The North Melbourne midfielders have been great at getting hard ball throughout the season so far but have really lacked polish, particularly around goal as they kicked 7 goals, 16 behinds in the loss to the Bombers on the weekend.

The Roos injury list is a bit of an issue at the moment as a bunch of key players remain on the sidelines in the likes of Marley Williams, Ben Jacobs, Majak Daw and Ed Vickers-Willis.

History

2018 Round 6 – North Melbourne (10.9.69) lost to Port Adelaide (15.12.102)
2017 Round 17 – Port Adelaide (19.13.127) defeated North Melbourne (8.9.57)
2016 Round 17 – North Melbourne (10.17.77) lost to Port Adelaide (16.9.105)
2015 Round 3 – North Melbourne (16.9.105) lost to Port Adelaide (17.11.113)
2014 Round 3 – North Melbourne (14.13.97) defeated Port Adelaide (13.12.90)
2013 Round 6 – North Melbourne (14.9.93) defeated Port Adelaide (12.11.83)

Prediction

Port Adelaide start as 22.5 point favourites here which we think is a little low given the dominant win they had in one of the tougher places to play football, against West Coast in Perth, on the weekend.

On the contrary, it’s hard to like the form of North Melbourne at the moment. They came up against a rabble of a Crows team in Round 4 which saw them earn their only win for the season and apart from that, they have been pretty dismal. Can’t see them winning in Adelaide Oval, where they are yet to record a win in six attempts.


 

 

TIPS

2019 Women's Ashes: Test Match Betting Tips

The 2019 Women's Ashes is underway and there is five points up for grabs in the one off Test match scheduled to start this Thursday, the 18th of July! We have a full preview and betting tips for the match here read more

Warwick Farm Racing Tips: Wednesday, July 17th

We're back at Warwick Farm this Wednesday for the midweek racing preview and we'll hopefully be on a drier surface than previous weeks! Check out our race-by-race preview and tips here read more

Harness Racing Tips: Gloucester Park - Tuesday, July 16th

There's a nine-race card of harness racing at Gloucester Park this Tuesday evening, and our resident harness expert Trent Orwin has provided his best bets here! read more

2019 ATP Newport/Umag/Bastad Betting Tips

There's three ATP Tour tournaments on this weekend with action in Newport, Umag, and Bastad. We provide our best bet for all three events here! read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes