2019 AFL: Round 5 Brisbane vs Collingwood Preview & Betting Tips

April 18th 2019, 1:31pm, By: PuntingInDanger

What a time to be an AFL fan! Due to the Easter weekend and ANZAC Day falling next week, there will be AFL games on 10 out of 11 days starting on Thursday! The Thursday night Round 5 opener sees the Brisbane Lions hosting the Collingwood Magpies in what should be an exciting game at The Gabba.

We take a look at the game and give our full betting tips below. Remember, you can check out the rest of our tips for the Round 5 action by heading to our AFL Tips Page later in the week.

AFL Round 5 Brisbane vs Collingwood Betting Tips

Thursday 18th of April, 7.35pm AEST, Gabba

From all reports, Brisbane will sell out The Gabba for the first time since Brendon Fevola made his debut for the Lions against the Blues back in 2010. The hype around the 3-1 Lions at the moment is at fever pitch in Brisbane, which should make Thursday night a great game.

Brisbane

Brisbane started the season 3-0 but had their bubble somewhat burst on the weekend by an impressive looking Bombers side. Playing at the MCG, the Bombers were big 47 point winners over Brisbane which sent the Lions to 3-1 on the season, currently sitting in fourth place. Midfield recruit Lachie Neale was once again fantastic in the loss, racking up 40 touches, but ultimately the Lions struggled to find a reliable avenue to goal.

Despite the loss, it’s still been a stellar start to the season for the Lions, who will welcome the return to The Gabba this weekend against an old rival in Collingwood. Brisbane’s tall forward line struggled to get on top of the Bombers as they did in the first three weeks as Michael Hurley Cale Hooker were instrumental in defence. The Lions forwards might have an easier time this weekend against a Collingwood defence that is arguably undersized.

Brisbane’s injury list is in a pretty good place at the moment. Losing second year player Zac Bailey on the weekend with a hamstring injury was a slight blow, but apart from him, no best 22 players will be on the sidelines this weekend.

Collingwood 

The Pies got the job done the hard way against the Bulldogs on Friday night to move to 2-2 on the season. After trailing by five points at three quarter time, Collingwood stacked on five goals to two in the last quarter to edge out a 14 point win. The host of Magpies small-medium sized forwards looked in sync in the win as Jamie Elliot, Jaidyn Stephenson, Josh Thomas and Jordan De Goey booted seven goals between them

The star-studded midfield that Collingwood possess probably hasn’t been as dominant as we would have expected to be in the pre-season. They were outplayed by a strong Cats unit in Round 1 before being manhandled by the Eagles in Round 3. They were once again, arguably outplayed by the Western Bulldogs on Friday night.

There shouldn’t be many changes to the Pies line-up after the win on the weekend. Daniel Wells is one to keep an eye on, however, as he was among the best players on the ground in Collingwood’s VFL game on the weekend.

History

2018 Round 21 – Collingwood (14.20.104) defeated Brisbane (11.7.73)
2018 Round 7 – Brisbane (18.6.114) lost to Collingwood (19.7.121)
2017 Round 10 – Collingwood (18.21.129) defeated Brisbane (13.6.84)
2016 Round 8 – Brisbane (10.5.65) lost to Collingwood (20.23.143)
2015 Round 1 – Brisbane (11.8.74) lost to Collingwood (12.14.86)
2014 Round 21 – Collingwood (8.8.56) lost to Brisbane (18.15.123)

Prediction

Collingwood have won the last five meetings between these two sides, however, that in the midst of a Brisbane rebuild. The Lions look to finally be on the other side of that rebuild, and even in the two sides two games last year, they remained extremely competitive with the eventual Grand Finalists.  

The Lions lost by just seven points at The Gabba in Round 7 last season as Dayne Zorko had a monster game with 34 touches and four goals. It should be an interesting battle in the ruck this weekend as forgotten premier ruckman in the league, Stefan Marin looks to reinsert his name back into the best ruckman conversation.

Tough game to call here. The Pies start as 9.5 point favourites on the road, which we think is a little high given the early form of the Lions, especially at The Gabba, where they trounced the Eagles by 44 points in Round 1 and captured another good win over the Power in Round 3. We like the Lions to cover here and we absolutely love them to win with the Sportsbet 12 points up at any quarter market. Look for them to get off to a flying start with the raucous Gabba crowd behind them


TIP:

Brisbane +9.5
$1.90

BET NOW AT Sportsbet

To win at Sportsbet (12 points up special)

TIPS

2019 Rugby Championship: Round 1 Betting Tips

Australia, South Africa, Argentina and New Zealand will kick off the 2019 Rugby Championship this weekend with two big games! Matta91 is here to check out both matchups and give his best bets for the weekend here read more

ESports Betting Tips: 2019 IEM Chicago

Eight of the best CS:GO teams in the world will converge on Chicago this week for the annual IEM Chicago! We take a look at the event and give our betting tips here read more

2019 NRL: Round 18 Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 in the NRL offers a fantastic 8 game slate which gets underway this Thrusday night with the Broncos taking on the Bulldogs! We have a full preview and betting tips for all of the Round 18 matchups here read more

2019 AFL: Round 18 Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

Round 18 of the 2019 AFL Premiership Season begins on Friday night with the Crows hosting the Bombers at Adelaide Oval. We preview the match here and provide our best bet! read more

ARTICLES

Major Harness Races in Australasia

There are approximately 90 Group 1 level harness races in Australia and New Zealand each year; we've highlighted some of most high profile races on the annual racing calendar here. read more


Harness racing form: what are the most important things to consider

Harness racing form can be daunting to punters that are new to the sport and form analysis for the trots is certainly different to that of the gallops or greyhounds. We've listed what we think the most important factors to consider are when studying the form for a trots race. read more


Harness Racing Barrier Draws

Barrier draws are crucial in racing and they are especially important in harness racing. We've explained why barriers are such a key part of harness racing form study and their importance to determining a horse's chances here. read more


Harness Racing Glossary

There are many common terms used in harness racing that may not make sense to those new to the sport. Our harness racing glossary will help you understand what some of the key terminology means. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Round 17

Round 17 of the 2019 AFL season is in the books, and according to our Brownlow vote projections, we have a new leader! Whether we're right or wrong, it's going to be an exciting count this year! Check out our thoughts and Brownlow votes for Round 17. read more


2019 AFL Round 18 Odds

Round 18 in the AFL season gets underway on Friday night with a fantastic clash between the Crows and Bombers! We have all of the odds for Round 18 courtesy of Bet365 here read more


2019 AFL Round 17 Odds

Round 17 of the AFL season offers a great slate of games headlined by the Grand Final rematch on Friday night between the Eagles and Magpies! We have all of the odds for Round 17 courtesy of Ladbrokes here! read more


2019 AFL Brownlow Medal Votes Predictions Round 16

Round 16 in the AFL offered up some thrilling contests and some outstanding individual performances! We take a look at each of the nine games and break down how we think the Brownlow votes will be dished out here read more


Ladbrokes