2018 AFL: Round 17 Adelaide vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

July 10th 2018, 11:16am, By: PuntingInDanger

An interesting weekend in the AFL last week saw Richmond reamin on top of the ladder after a dominant win over the Crows in the Grand Final rematch while chasers Collingwood, West Coast and Port Adelaide all secured wins also. Adelaide will be back in action this Thursday night as they face off against Geelong at Adelaide Oval in the Thursday night opener of Round 17. We take a look at the game and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 17 Adelaide vs Geelong Betting Tips

The two sides in question last met in the preliminary final of the 2017 season at Adelaide Oval. The Crows were victorious that night, claiming a 61 point win to send them into the Grand Final where they would eventually lose to the Tigers. It’s been an inconsistent year to say the least for the Crows, and poor results could be attributed to the long list of injuries they are still dealing with.

The Crows could get some key players back for this Thursday night’s clash in Eddie Betts and Cam Ellis-Yolmen, but will likely be without Daniel Talia and Tom Lynch, who both suffered injuries in the Round 16 clash against the Tigers. The two are just more names on the lengthy Crows injury list that already includes Brad Crouch, Mitch McGovern, Brodie Smith, Richard Douglas and David Mckay.

It will be the second Thursday night clash in a row for the Cats, who were fantastic in Round 16, travelling to Sydney and earning a 12-point win over the Swans at the SCG. The Cats moved into 7th place with the win and bounced back from a disappointing loss to the Western Bulldogs the week before.

While he only kicked two goals in the win, Tom Hawkins was fantastic for the Cats on Thursday night, taking six marks and tallying seven total shots on goal as he provided the Cats with a long key target in attack all night. He should be a handful for the Crows this weekend, especially if Talia does end up missing with the injured foot.

The Cats injury front is looking pretty good at the moment. Esava Ratugolea remains on the sidelines with an injured ankle but provided Harry Taylor passes a fitness test through the week, the Cats should nearly be at full strength for the clash.

History

2017 Prelim Final – Adelaide (21.10.136) dft. Geelong (10.15.75)
2017 Round 18 – Adelaide (13.13.91) dft. Geelong (10.10.70)
2017 Round 11 – Geelong (13.18.96) dft. Adelaide (10.14.74)
2016 Round 18 – Geelong (12.13.85) dft. Adelaide (7.13.55)
2016 Round 8 – Adelaide (11.6.72) lt. Geelong (13.20.98)

Played: 42
Geelong: 23
Adelaide: 19

Interestingly, the home team has won the last four games played between these two teams, but the away team in Geelong start as slight 2.5 point favourites for Thursday night. The last three matches in a row have all cleared the 158.5 total point mark currently set for Thursday’s game.

The Crows have the difficult task of facing the best two defences in the AFL two weekends in a row in the Tigers and the Cats. Geelong have allowed the fewest points of any team so far in 2017 and the Crows offence has really struggled of late, averaging just 63 points over their last seven games.

TIP:

Adelaide total points UNDER 80.5
$1.70

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Cats defence best in the league

TIPS

Rosehill Racing Tips for Saturday, February 23rd

With all the focus on Caulfield and their three Group 1's, we've just picked out our best bets of the day at Rosehill, with a couple at nice odds! Check out our preview and selections here! read more

Caulfield Racing Tips for Saturday, February 23rd

It's Blue Diamond Stakes Day at Caulfield, with three huge Group 1's on the card! Check out our comprehensive preview of all nine races, with selections for every race here! read more

Harness Racing Tips: Albion Park & Menangle - Saturday February 23rd

Check out our Harness tips for the excellent night of racing on the cards for Saturday, September 23rd at both Albion Park and Menangle here! read more

2018-19 NBA Betting Tips: Saturday 23rd February

We had a successful first day back from the All-Star break with our NBA betting tips and are confident we can keep it rolling into day two. Check out our best bets for Saturday's slate here! read more

ARTICLES

Australian Bookmaker Tennis Retirement Rules

With the Australian tennis season in full swing, we take a look at the variety of different betting terms and conditions surrounding retirements in tennis matches at the major Australian sports betting sites. read more


Streaming Live Sports on Australian Betting Sites

Here's a run down of which Australian sports betting sites offer live streaming action of your favourite sports! read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFLX Teams & Fixture

2019 will see a new spin on the AFLX concept with all-star teams drafted by captains Eddie Betts, Patrick Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe and Jack Riewoldt competing against each other over one night of action! We take a look at the teams and fixture here. read more


Kayo Sports Launches 'Feb for $5er Promotion'

New customers to Kayo Sports can cash in on their fantastic new promotion 'Feb for a $5er' which allows you to stream all of their sporting content for just $5 for the month of February! More info here read more


2019 AFLW Season Fixture

The 2019 AFLW season will see two new teams enter the competition as North Melbourne and Geelong get set to embark on their AFLW journey. We take a look at the full 2019 season fixture here! read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Perth Scorchers

Can the Perth Scorchers win a record 4th Big Bash League title in 2018-19? See our full team preview for the Scorchers in BBL08 here read more


Ladbrokes Back Yourself