2018 AFL: Round 20 Richmond vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

July 31st 2018, 3:34pm, By: PuntingInDanger

Great betting weekend for PuntingInDanger and fans last round as we hit on 5 of 7 bets over the weekend. We will look to back it up in Round 20 which gets underway this Friday night with a blockbuster clash between the Richmond Tigers and Geelong Cats at the MCG from 7.50pm.

We preview the massive game and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 20 Richmond vs Geelong Betting Tips

Geelong captured a good win over Brisbane at home in Round 19 and will need to continue to keep winning to keep their finals chances alive. They currently sit in eight position but are level on 44 points with Melbourne, Hawthorn and Sydney while both North Melbourne and Essendon trail closely on 40 points.

Gary Ablett was back to his best in the win over Brisbane, racking up 38 touches while Tom Hawkins continued his scintillating form, bagging another 7 goals to make it 18 in the last three games. Hawkins was a standout performer in the Cats loss to the Tigers earlier in the season as well, booting three goals and giving Richmond full back Alex Rance some real problems with size and strength.

After a tight game for the first three quarters, the Tigers blew past the Magpies in the final term to win by 28 points at the MCG on Saturday. They now sit pretty on top of the AFL ladder, leading the Eagles by four points and maintaining a very healthy percentage of 137.8.

There is a few injury concerns with the Tigers at the moment, as Dion Prestia will miss Friday’s clash with sore ribs while Bachar Houli, Jack Graham and Reece Conca remain on the sidelines. Not as many issues on the Geelong side, as only Harry Taylor and  Esava Ratugolea look set to miss from their best 22.

Unsurprisingly, the last two games between these teams were ‘supposed’ to be Geelong home games, however, they were both played at the MCG. Richmond were victorious in both of those games, but the last time they met in Geelong, the Cats came up 14 point winners.

The Tigers haven’t lost at the MCG since Round 13 last year, and it’s hard to argue with them being $1.40 favourites here at home. They have been absolutely dominant in the last quarters of games all year, so even if the Cats stay with them for the first three quarters like they did in Round 13, the Tigers have another gear in the fourth.

History

2018 Round 13 – Geelong (9.11.65) lt. Richmond (12.11.83)
2017 Qualifying Final – Geelong (5.10.40) lt. Richmond (13.13.91)
2017 Round 21 – Geelong (11.14.80) dft. Richmond (9.12.66)
2016 Round 21 – Richmond (12.6.78) lt. Geelong (10.22.82)

Played: 193
Geelong: 103
Richmond: 87

Really tough game to call here. So much star power on both sides. The Cats in particular seem to have the cattle to get up and win a big game like this. There’s so much pure match winning ability in the likes of Ablett, Dangerfield, Menegola and Hawkins, and its almost a must win to keep their finals chances alive.

The Tigers have looked a touch shaky of late, and it would have been interesting to see the result in last weekend’s game against the Pies if Jeremy Howe hadn’t gone down in the first quarter. I like the value in the Cats here.

TIP:

Geelong Handicap (+18.5)
$1.92

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Back the in form Cats

 

TIPS

NFL 2018-19: Week 16 Preview & Betting Tips

The penultimate round of the 2018-19 NFL season gets underway Sunday! Catch our preview and tips for the key games of the weekend here.. read more

Caulfield Racing Tips for Wednesday, December 19th

Racing returns to Caulfield for Wednesday's midweek meeting and we've picked out four races on the card to bet into. Check out our selections here! read more

2018-19 NBA Betting Tips: Tuesday 18th December

The NBA on Tuesday is always busy and this week is no different with a heap of games set to play out. We give previews and betting tips for the value games here read more

2018-19 Big Bash League (BBL08): Round 1 Preview & Betting Tips

The 2018-19 Big Bash League gets underway this Wednesday, the 19th of December! We take a look at the Round 1 action and give our betting tips here! read more

ARTICLES

Streaming Live Sports on Australian Betting Sites

Here's a run down of which Australian sports betting sites offer live streaming action of your favourite sports! read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


BLOGS

BBL08 Team Preview: Perth Scorchers

Can the Perth Scorchers win a record 4th Big Bash League title in 2018-19? See our full team preview for the Scorchers in BBL08 here read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers will be aiming for a successful title defence in BBL08. Can they complete the back to back or will Travis Head's international duty be a hinderance? read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Melbourne Renegades

Our 2018-19 Big Bash League team previews continue today as we take a look at last season's semi finalists the Melbourne Renegades. Can the Renegades make the finals for just the third time in BBL08? read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Hobart Hurricanes

The Hobart Hurricanes surprised many last season as they reached the final, and they'll be looking to go one better in BBL08. They have a dynamic squad of talented players but they'll need to keep them on the park to contend. Here's our Hurricanes team preview for BBL08. read more