2018 AFL: Round 16 Sydney vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

July 3rd 2018, 4:39pm, By: PuntingInDanger

Four wins and five losses in the AFL for PuntingInDanger and fans in what was one of the most entertaining weekends of football so far this season!  AFL Round 16 gets underway this Thursday night with a massive clash between the Sydney Swans and Geelong Cats and we have you covered with a full preview and betting tips for the game here.

Round 16 Sydney vs Geelong Betting Tips

Geelong were unlucky last weekend as defender Harry Taylor missed a set shot after the siren that would have given them a three-point win over the Bulldogs on Thursday night. With the loss, the Cats enter a tight battle for the final three spots in the top eight as GWS, Melbourne, Geelong, North Melbourne and Hawthorn all have eight wins to their name.

Sydney will be keen to get back to the SCG this weekend after a disappointing loss to the Tigers at the MCH in Round 15. They were fantastic in their last game at the SCG, defeating the Eagles by 15 points but a 26 points loss to the Tigers in a top of the table clash last weekend ruined their chances of moving to the top spot on the AFL ladder.

The Swans currently sit fourth, locked on 40 points alongside Collingwood, West Coast and Port Adelaide and will be desperate for a win here to stay in touch with the first placed Tigers.

Geelong have now lost their last two games to the Tigers and Western Bulldogs respectively but could get a few key players in Nakia Cockatoo, Stewart Crameri, Daniel Menzel and Zac Smith back from injury this weekend.

Sydney have one of the best-looking injury lists in the league, with only Callum Mills unavailable for action this Thursday as Sam Reid and Lewis Melican look to return through the NEAFL this weekend.

History

2018 Round 6 – Geelong (10.9.69) lt. Sydney (12.14.86)
2017 Semi – Geelong (15.8.98) dft. Sydney (5.9.39)
2017 Round 20 – Geelong (8.13.61) lt. Sydney (16.11.107)
2016 Prelim – Geelong (8.12.60) lt. Sydney (15.7.97)
2016 Round 16 – Geelong (9.6.60) lt. Sydney (15.8.98)
2015 Round 19 – Geelong (14.11.95) dft. Sydney (9.9.63)
2015 Round 7 – Sydney (18.12.120) dft. Geelong (11.11.77)  

Games Played: 222
Geelong: 121
Sydney: 101

Although two of the games have been at the MCG because they have been finals, amazingly, Geelong have been the home side the last six times these two teams have faced off, with the four non-finals games all being played in Geelong. The last time Geelong travelled to Sydney to take on the Swans was all the way back in 2015 when the Swans were 42 point winners.

Sydney have definitely had the wood over Geelong in their recent matches. Apart from the semi final at the MCG last year, Sydney have won their last four matches against Geelong and with the home field advantage this weekend, we think they can cover a 14.5-point line.


TIP:

Sydney Handicap (-14.5)
$1.92

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Back the Swans at home!

TIPS

Rosehill Racing Tips for Saturday, February 23rd

With all the focus on Caulfield and their three Group 1's, we've just picked out our best bets of the day at Rosehill, with a couple at nice odds! Check out our preview and selections here! read more

Caulfield Racing Tips for Saturday, February 23rd

It's Blue Diamond Stakes Day at Caulfield, with three huge Group 1's on the card! Check out our comprehensive preview of all nine races, with selections for every race here! read more

Harness Racing Tips: Albion Park & Menangle - Saturday February 23rd

Check out our Harness tips for the excellent night of racing on the cards for Saturday, September 23rd at both Albion Park and Menangle here! read more

2018-19 NBA Betting Tips: Saturday 23rd February

We had a successful first day back from the All-Star break with our NBA betting tips and are confident we can keep it rolling into day two. Check out our best bets for Saturday's slate here! read more

ARTICLES

Australian Bookmaker Tennis Retirement Rules

With the Australian tennis season in full swing, we take a look at the variety of different betting terms and conditions surrounding retirements in tennis matches at the major Australian sports betting sites. read more


Streaming Live Sports on Australian Betting Sites

Here's a run down of which Australian sports betting sites offer live streaming action of your favourite sports! read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


BLOGS

2019 AFLX Teams & Fixture

2019 will see a new spin on the AFLX concept with all-star teams drafted by captains Eddie Betts, Patrick Dangerfield, Nat Fyfe and Jack Riewoldt competing against each other over one night of action! We take a look at the teams and fixture here. read more


Kayo Sports Launches 'Feb for $5er Promotion'

New customers to Kayo Sports can cash in on their fantastic new promotion 'Feb for a $5er' which allows you to stream all of their sporting content for just $5 for the month of February! More info here read more


2019 AFLW Season Fixture

The 2019 AFLW season will see two new teams enter the competition as North Melbourne and Geelong get set to embark on their AFLW journey. We take a look at the full 2019 season fixture here! read more


BBL08 Team Preview: Perth Scorchers

Can the Perth Scorchers win a record 4th Big Bash League title in 2018-19? See our full team preview for the Scorchers in BBL08 here read more


Ladbrokes Back Yourself