2018 AFL: Round 16 Sydney vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

July 3rd 2018, 4:39pm, By: PuntingInDanger

Four wins and five losses in the AFL for PuntingInDanger and fans in what was one of the most entertaining weekends of football so far this season!  AFL Round 16 gets underway this Thursday night with a massive clash between the Sydney Swans and Geelong Cats and we have you covered with a full preview and betting tips for the game here.

Round 16 Sydney vs Geelong Betting Tips

Geelong were unlucky last weekend as defender Harry Taylor missed a set shot after the siren that would have given them a three-point win over the Bulldogs on Thursday night. With the loss, the Cats enter a tight battle for the final three spots in the top eight as GWS, Melbourne, Geelong, North Melbourne and Hawthorn all have eight wins to their name.

Sydney will be keen to get back to the SCG this weekend after a disappointing loss to the Tigers at the MCH in Round 15. They were fantastic in their last game at the SCG, defeating the Eagles by 15 points but a 26 points loss to the Tigers in a top of the table clash last weekend ruined their chances of moving to the top spot on the AFL ladder.

The Swans currently sit fourth, locked on 40 points alongside Collingwood, West Coast and Port Adelaide and will be desperate for a win here to stay in touch with the first placed Tigers.

Geelong have now lost their last two games to the Tigers and Western Bulldogs respectively but could get a few key players in Nakia Cockatoo, Stewart Crameri, Daniel Menzel and Zac Smith back from injury this weekend.

Sydney have one of the best-looking injury lists in the league, with only Callum Mills unavailable for action this Thursday as Sam Reid and Lewis Melican look to return through the NEAFL this weekend.

History

2018 Round 6 – Geelong (10.9.69) lt. Sydney (12.14.86)
2017 Semi – Geelong (15.8.98) dft. Sydney (5.9.39)
2017 Round 20 – Geelong (8.13.61) lt. Sydney (16.11.107)
2016 Prelim – Geelong (8.12.60) lt. Sydney (15.7.97)
2016 Round 16 – Geelong (9.6.60) lt. Sydney (15.8.98)
2015 Round 19 – Geelong (14.11.95) dft. Sydney (9.9.63)
2015 Round 7 – Sydney (18.12.120) dft. Geelong (11.11.77)  

Games Played: 222
Geelong: 121
Sydney: 101

Although two of the games have been at the MCG because they have been finals, amazingly, Geelong have been the home side the last six times these two teams have faced off, with the four non-finals games all being played in Geelong. The last time Geelong travelled to Sydney to take on the Swans was all the way back in 2015 when the Swans were 42 point winners.

Sydney have definitely had the wood over Geelong in their recent matches. Apart from the semi final at the MCG last year, Sydney have won their last four matches against Geelong and with the home field advantage this weekend, we think they can cover a 14.5-point line.


TIP:

Sydney Handicap (-14.5)
$1.92

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Back the Swans at home!

TIPS

2018 NRL Grand Final Preview & Betting Tips

matta91 is back this weekend with his final preview of the 2018 NRL season! Click here to check out his full breakdown of the Roosters vs the Storm in the big dance this Sunday read more

2018 AFL Grand Final Preview & Betting Tips

Catch our 2018 AFL mega preview for the monster clash between West Coast and Collingwood at the MCG this Saturday afternoon! We run through all of the team news and give our tips for the game here read more

FREE BYB COMPETITION: Share in $1,500 in BetEasy Reward Points this Grand Final week

Before You Bet are teaming up with BetEasy for the Brownlow Medal and AFL/NRL Grand Finals this weekend for some fantastic free to enter competitions worth a total of $1,500 in rewards points! See more details here read more

2018 Ryder Cup Preview & Betting Tips

The PGA Tour might have wrapped up but the golf season continues this weekend with the Ryder Cup set to take place from Paris! See our preview and tips for the event here read more

ARTICLES

Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


Tips for Taking Advantage of NBA Player Performance Betting

Most Australian bookmakers now offer player prop markets in the NBA, you can take advantage of a few factors that we take a closer look at in our Tips for NBA Player Performance Betting read more


BLOGS

2018 Brownlow Medal Predictions & Leaderboard

2018 Brownlow Medal predictions are here as our AFL tipping experts offer round-by-round Brownlow votes, rolling leaderboard and vote trackers for the 2018 AFL season. read more


2018 Brownlow Vote Predictions Round 23

We could be set for an amazing Brownlow Medal count if our 2018 Brownlow vote predictions are on point. Find out who we gave votes to in Round 23 and what affect that has on the final leaderboard right here. read more


Punters pile into Winx for 2018 Colgate Optic White Stakes

Punters are already lining up to take the short odds about the world's highest-rated racehorse Winx in Saturday's Group 1 Colgate Optic White Stakes! read more


Hong Kong 2018/19 Racing Season Preview

The 2018/19 Hong Kong racing season kicks off at Sha Tin this Sunday, September 2nd! After an extraordinary end to last season, we take a look at all the big players to keep an eye on for the upcoming season! read more


Unibet Promotion