2018 AFL: Round 23 Port Adelaide vs Essendon Preview & Betting Tips

August 21st 2018, 11:33am, By: PuntingInDanger

The final round of the 2018 AFL season is finally upon us and this weekend will feature some massively important games. The top eight looks to be set in stone, however, Port Adelaide can throw a spanner in the works with a win over Essendon in the round opener on Friday night. We preview the big game from Adelaide Oval and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 23 Port Adelaide vs Essendon Betting Tips

Port Adelaide currently sit 9th on the AFL ladder with 48 points. Geelong sit one spot above them in eighth with the same amount of points but boast an average which is a whole 16 points better than the Power’s. For Port Adelaide to make the finals, they’ll need to beat Essendon on Friday night and hope the Suns lose to Gold Coast at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

It’s an unlikely scenario for the Power, but they’ll still be keen to hold up their end of the deal and leave their fate in Gold Coast’s hands on Saturday. Regardless of the outcome, the finish to the season is a disappointing one for the Power. After sitting in 2nd place and looking pretty after Round 16, Port Adelaide have now lost five of their last six games to potentially miss finals.

The Bombers suffered a season ending loss to the Tigers on Friday night last weekend. They went down by 8 points at the MCG and now sit four points behind Port Adelaide and Geelong plus percentage points so would need to win this game by an astronomical amount to have any chance of advancing.

It’s a disappointing result to a really disjointed season from the Bombers. Injury and poor form throughout the middle part of the season will mean they miss finals when they were arguably one of the most in form teams in the competition over the final few months.

The Bombers have had the edge over Port Adelaide in their last two encounters, winning last season at Etihad Stadium by 70 points before facing them again under the roof in Round 4 of this year where they were 22 point winners. The two teams haven’t met in Adelaide since the 2016 season, where Port Adelaide were big 61 point winners, so it figures that the home team would be slightly favoured here.

History

2018 Round 4 – Essendon (16.10.106) dft. Port Adelaide (12.12.84)
2017 Round 12 – Essendon (19.17.131) dft. Port Adelaide (8.13.61)
2016 Round 3 – Port Adelaide (17.10.112) dft. Essendon (7.9.51)
2015 Round 17 – Essendon (17.14.116) lt. Port Adelaide (20.9.129)
2014 Round 16 – Port Adelaide (7.18.60) lt. Essendon (8.14.62)

Port Adelaide start as slight 9.5 point favourites at home, which we’re not sure about given their form of late. They have had a tough run of games, losing to GWS, Adelaide, West Coast and Collingwood over their last six games. Three of their five losses over the past few months have come by single digits and eight of their games in 2018 have been decided by 14 points or less.

Tough game to call here so we are looking to the total points line for value. Both teams will be ultra attacking as both need a massive percentage boost in the extremely off chance that Geelong underperform against the Gold Coast. The last three games between the two sides have all cleared the 171.5-point mark and we think this one should with the aggressive nature of play.


 

TIPS

2018-19 NBA Betting Tips: Thursday, 15th November

We continue our NBA coverage on Thursday with a big 11-game slate set to play out. check out our previews and best bets for the day here read more

NFL 2018-19: Week 11 Preview & Betting Tips

The 2018-19 NFL season continues this Friday as Week 11 gets underway with the Packers facing off against the Seahawks. We preview the key games of the weekend and give our betting tips here read more

NBL Round 6 Preview & Betting Tips

We now approach the quarter mark of the 2018-19 NBL season with the powerhouse teams starting to find their rhythm. As usual, we preview the weekend's upcoming games and provide our best betting tips. read more

2019 PGA Tour: RSM Classic Preview & Betting Tips

The PGA Tour continues this weekend with the annual RSM Classic from from Saint Simons Island in Georgia! See our preview and tips for the weekend's action here read more

ARTICLES

Streaming Live Sports on Australian Betting Sites

Here's a run down of which Australian sports betting sites offer live streaming action of your favourite sports! read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


BLOGS

Three Equal Favourites for the 2018 TAB Everest

Punters are struggling to determine a clear favourite for this Saturday's $13million TAB Everest after Tuesday's barrier draw. See all the market moves here! read more


Can Any NBA Team Beat the Golden State Warriors in 2018-19?

With the 2018-19 NBA season just a week away, the folks at ClassicBet have broken down the odds for the Championship and asked the all important question 'can anyone beat the Warriors?' read more


2018 Brownlow Medal Predictions & Leaderboard

2018 Brownlow Medal predictions are here as our AFL tipping experts offer round-by-round Brownlow votes, rolling leaderboard and vote trackers for the 2018 AFL season. read more


2018 Brownlow Vote Predictions Round 23

We could be set for an amazing Brownlow Medal count if our 2018 Brownlow vote predictions are on point. Find out who we gave votes to in Round 23 and what affect that has on the final leaderboard right here. read more