2018 AFL: Round 18 St Kilda vs Richmond Preview & Betting Tips

July 17th 2018, 12:02pm, By: PuntingInDanger

PuntingInDanger and fans hit on four of eight bets in the AFL last weekend to bounce back from a few tough rounds in a row. Round 18 gets underway Friday night with a big clash between the Saints and Tigers from Etihad Stadium which will serve as the annual ‘Maddie’s Match’ for charity. We take a look at the Round 18 opener and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 18 St Kilda vs Richmond Betting Tips

Richmond will be looking to bounce back from a disappointing away loss to the Giants last weekend. The Tigers travelled to Sydney with the hopes of maintaining their four-point advantage on the top of the ladder, however, the Giants were too good on the night, winning by 2 points. GWS had the top four disposal getters on the ground with Lachie Whitefield, Callan Ward, Heath Shaw and Stephen Coniglio all racked up 30 disposals.

The Tigers now have a 2-4 record away from the MCG this year and will be desperate to improve that record on Friday night as they square off at Etihad. They struggled to find an avenue to goal against the Giants on the weekend, scoring just 77 points which was their lowest score since losing to the Power in Adelaide in Round 12.

The Saints were dominant over the Blues on the weekend, recording a 64-point win on Friday night as the midfield of the Saints took over the game. Jack Steele continued his good run of form, racking up 33 touches and kicking a goal while Jack Steven also had 33 disposals and two goals. It was good to see Jack Billings back to his best after a disappointing year so far as the exciting youngster had 30 touches and two goals.

After winning just one of their first 12 games, the Saints have now won three of their last four.  Although two of those wins have come against the bottom ranked teams in the league in the Suns and Blues, they did record a great win against the Demons a few weeks ago and are looking like a much-improved side.

The Saints have a few injury concerns to worry about as star defender Jimmy Webster went down with a groin injury in the win over the Blues and is unlikely to play on Friday night. They could, however, get Logan Austin and Josh Battle back from injury,  bolstering either end of the ground. One positive sign against the Blues was the form of youngster Rowan Marshall, who kicked two goals, racked up eight marks and also chipped in for 23 hitouts in his best game of AFL.

The Tigers will be without a few key players as well as Reece Conca, Jack Graham, Dan Butler and Nathan Broad all remain on the sidelines. However, Bachar Houli looks set to return from injury this weekend while Nick Vlaustin will be available after suspension.

History

2018 Round 10 – Richmond (15.15.105) dft. St Kilda (12.5.77)
2017 Round 23 – Richmond (19.8.122) dft. St Kilda (12.9.81)
2017 Round 16 – St Kilda (21.12.138) dft. Richmond (10.11.71)
2016 Round 22 – Richmond (6.10.46) lt. St Kilda (7.13.55)
2015 Round 16 – St Kilda (10.13.73) lt. Richmond (13.11.89)
2014 Round 22 – Richmond (15.8.98) dft. St Kilda (10.12.72)
2014 Round 15 – St Kilda (11.7.73) lt. Richmond (18.9.117)
2013 Round 14 – Richmond (17.17.119) dft. St Kilda (8.7.55)

Played: 184
St Kilda: 71
Richmond: 110

The Saints were fantastic against the Tigers at Etihad Stadium last year, smashing them by 67 points after kicking 14 goals to 1 in the first half. That was arguably the turning point of the season for the Tigers, and obviously they are a much different side this time around.

Richmond start as 39-point favourites here, which seems just a touch high considering the Saints were gallant in defeat in their Round 10 loss to the Tigers at the MCG. Jade Gresham snagged six goals in that game and the Saints lost by just 28 points. They’ll feel more comfortable on the weekend and they have covered in their last three games in a row.

TIP:

St Kilda Handicap (+39.5)
$1.92

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Back the Saints with a big head start

 

TIPS

2018 AFL: Daily Fantasy Tips for Round 22

This Sunday marks the date for the monster $100,000 AFL tournament at PlayON! We have a special edition of team our AFL fantasy team of the week for the tournament here read more

Randwick Racing Tips for Saturday, August 18th

The Group 1 Winx Stakes is the first Group 1 of the Australian racing season and headlines a huge day at Royal Randwick this Saturday, August 18th! Check out our preview and tips for the day here! read more

Caulfield Racing Tips for Saturday, August 18th

The Group 2 P.B. Lawrence Stakes headlines a huge day of horse racing at Caulfield this Saturday, August 18th, as we gear up towards the Spring Carnival! Check out our preview and tips for every race on the card here! read more

2018-19 EPL: Week 2 Preview & Betting Tips

The 2018-19 EPL season got off to a flyer last weekend with a great slate of games. The SundayLeagueShark is back this weekend to preview the key games of Week 2 and give his best bets read more

ARTICLES

Bet on Lotto Outcomes with William Hill's 'Planet Lottery'

You can now bet on the outcome of a range of different lotteries around the world with William Hill's Planet Lottery! See more info here read more


Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


BLOGS

2018 Brownlow Medal Predictions & Leaderboard

2018 Brownlow Medal predictions are here as our AFL tipping experts offer round-by-round Brownlow votes, rolling leaderboard and vote trackers for the 2018 AFL season. read more


2018 Brownlow Vote Predictions Round 21

A quiet week for our 2018 Brownlow Medal leaders with not much change at the top of the leaderboard. Find out who we gave our votes to with our Brownlow vote predictions for Round 21. read more


BetEasy Launches in Australia

CrownBet and William Hill have officially merged into the newest Australian betting agency, BetEasy. Changes took place this Monday, the 13th of August, see more info on how it could affect you here read more


2018 Brownlow Vote Predictions Round 20

What an incredible round of AFL with five games decided by less than a kick! It should make voting interesting come Brownlow night! Here's our Brownlow vote predictions for AFL Round 20. read more


Unibet Streak