2018 AFL: Round 17 Adelaide vs Geelong Preview & Betting Tips

July 10th 2018, 11:16am, By: PuntingInDanger

An interesting weekend in the AFL last week saw Richmond reamin on top of the ladder after a dominant win over the Crows in the Grand Final rematch while chasers Collingwood, West Coast and Port Adelaide all secured wins also. Adelaide will be back in action this Thursday night as they face off against Geelong at Adelaide Oval in the Thursday night opener of Round 17. We take a look at the game and give our betting tips below.

AFL Round 17 Adelaide vs Geelong Betting Tips

The two sides in question last met in the preliminary final of the 2017 season at Adelaide Oval. The Crows were victorious that night, claiming a 61 point win to send them into the Grand Final where they would eventually lose to the Tigers. It’s been an inconsistent year to say the least for the Crows, and poor results could be attributed to the long list of injuries they are still dealing with.

The Crows could get some key players back for this Thursday night’s clash in Eddie Betts and Cam Ellis-Yolmen, but will likely be without Daniel Talia and Tom Lynch, who both suffered injuries in the Round 16 clash against the Tigers. The two are just more names on the lengthy Crows injury list that already includes Brad Crouch, Mitch McGovern, Brodie Smith, Richard Douglas and David Mckay.

It will be the second Thursday night clash in a row for the Cats, who were fantastic in Round 16, travelling to Sydney and earning a 12-point win over the Swans at the SCG. The Cats moved into 7th place with the win and bounced back from a disappointing loss to the Western Bulldogs the week before.

While he only kicked two goals in the win, Tom Hawkins was fantastic for the Cats on Thursday night, taking six marks and tallying seven total shots on goal as he provided the Cats with a long key target in attack all night. He should be a handful for the Crows this weekend, especially if Talia does end up missing with the injured foot.

The Cats injury front is looking pretty good at the moment. Esava Ratugolea remains on the sidelines with an injured ankle but provided Harry Taylor passes a fitness test through the week, the Cats should nearly be at full strength for the clash.

History

2017 Prelim Final – Adelaide (21.10.136) dft. Geelong (10.15.75)
2017 Round 18 – Adelaide (13.13.91) dft. Geelong (10.10.70)
2017 Round 11 – Geelong (13.18.96) dft. Adelaide (10.14.74)
2016 Round 18 – Geelong (12.13.85) dft. Adelaide (7.13.55)
2016 Round 8 – Adelaide (11.6.72) lt. Geelong (13.20.98)

Played: 42
Geelong: 23
Adelaide: 19

Interestingly, the home team has won the last four games played between these two teams, but the away team in Geelong start as slight 2.5 point favourites for Thursday night. The last three matches in a row have all cleared the 158.5 total point mark currently set for Thursday’s game.

The Crows have the difficult task of facing the best two defences in the AFL two weekends in a row in the Tigers and the Cats. Geelong have allowed the fewest points of any team so far in 2017 and the Crows offence has really struggled of late, averaging just 63 points over their last seven games.

TIP:

Adelaide total points UNDER 80.5
$1.70

BET NOW AT CrownBet

Cats defence best in the league

TIPS

Randwick Racing Tips for Saturday, July 21st

Racing returns to Randwick this Saturday, July 21st, with a stacked nine-race card! see our comprehensive preview with tips for every race here! read more

Flemington Racing Tips for Saturday, July 21st

Flemington hosts a nine-race card this Saturday, July 21st, and we've got betting tips and comments for every race here! It looks a tricky day with some exceptionally hard races, but there are a few races we're keen to bet in! read more

WTA Bucharest Preview & Betting Tip - Friday 20th July

Ace is back with a free betting tip for Friday night's match between Laura Siegemund and Petra Martic at the WTA Bucharest Open. Check out his preview and betting tip here. read more

2018 AFL: Daily Fantasy Tips for Round 18

$50k guaranteed up for grabs at Draftstars this Saturday and we have you covered with another AFL fantasy team of the week here! read more

ARTICLES

Best Australian Sports Betting Sites

The best Australian sports betting sites insures safe and successful online betting for punters as well as offering the best betting options in Australia. read more


How Does Spread Betting Work?

Spread betting has finally made it's way to Australia through new betting agency Pointsbet, we give you a quick guide to spread betting here. read more


How to Bet on eSports in Australia

With the phenomenon of eSports finally starting to take off in Australia, we thought we'd give you a quick 'how to' guide on betting on eSports in Australia! read more


Tips for Taking Advantage of NBA Player Performance Betting

Most Australian bookmakers now offer player prop markets in the NBA, you can take advantage of a few factors that we take a closer look at in our Tips for NBA Player Performance Betting read more


BLOGS

2018-19 Big Bash League (BBL08) Fixture

The BBL08 fixture has been announced by Cricket Australia and for the first time ever it features a full home and away season! See more info and the full fixture here! read more


2018-19 WBBL04 Fixture Announced!

Some big changes will take place in the 4th edition of the Women's Big Bash League set to kick off in December! See more info and the full fixture for WBBL04 here! read more


2018 Brownlow Vote Predictions Round 17

Round 17 of the 2018 AFL season saw plenty of upsets which bodes well for a few Brownlow contenders from the lower teams to grab some votes. Here's our Brownlow vote predictions for Round 17! read more


2018 Brownlow Medal Predictions & Leaderboard

2018 Brownlow Medal predictions are here as our AFL tipping experts offer round-by-round Brownlow votes, rolling leaderboard and vote trackers for the 2018 AFL season. read more


Unibet Streak